Published On : Fri, Mar 10th, 2017

VIA LEW celebrates International Women’s Day

VIA Lady Entrepreneurs Wing celebrated International Women’s Day at VIA under the able leadership of Shachi Mallick, Chairperson, VIA LEW and Reeta Lanjewar, Secretary, VIA LEW.

On this occasion, earlier Shachi Mallick, Chairperson, VIA LEW shared with one and all present about her experience at Women’s Parliament recently attended by her at Vijaywada, Andhra Pradesh. Anita Rao, Past Chairperson, VIA LEW had also attended Women’s Parliament. Mallick emphasised that the mentees were having thorough knowledge about their core subject.

On 9th March’2017, VIA-LEW celebrated International Women’s Day with gusto. Abha Pande was the chief Guest for the occasion. She was earlier given a floral welcome by Shachi Mallick.

Prafullata Rode, VIA LEW addressed the august gathering about the importance of ‘International Women’s Day’. She threw light on how and when the celebration of International Women’s day started and she went on to explain how it has progressed till date. She urged that all women should behave properly with other women if we really want to progress.

Vandana Sharma, IPP,VIA LEW also encouraged the women entrepreneurs with her kind words of wisdom.

Abha Pande, Chief Guest for the occasion motivated and encouraged all the women entrepreneurs with her highly inspiring address. Before the much awaited prize distribution ceremony. Madhubala Singh, Past Chairperson, VIA-LEW highlighted the criteria for selecting the Best Lady Entrepreneur. The coveted award for Best Lady Entrepreneur for the year 2016-17 was won by Kaumudi Chawda of Kalakriti Handicraft.

Chawda shared her success story with one and all present. She expressed her gratitude to VIA LEW team and appreciated the encouragement that she received being a part of VIA-LEW’s Udyojika. The program was well conducted by Reeta Lanjewar, Secretary, VIA-LEW and the vote of thanks was proposed by PRO, Shikha Khare. Also present for celebration were VIA LEW Executive team members, namely Chitra Parate, Neelam Bowade, Poonam Lala, Indu Kshirsagar, Manisha Bawankar, Sarita Pawar and Mitali Rafique.

This was followed by high tea and snacks. The celebration received an overwhelming response and was attended by large number of women entrepreneurs.