Published On : Mon, Apr 6th, 2015

VHA hockey museum inaugurated

Nagpur: In order to honour the former Indian hockey legends, an unique Hockey Museum was inaugurated at the Vidarbha Hockey Association premises on Sunday afternoon.

Leader of ruling part in Nagpur Municipal Corporation (NMC) Dayashankar Tiwari inaugurated the museum as the chief guest of the ceremony. Prabhu Deshpande presided over the function.

Deputy director of sports and district sports officer Vijay Santan and Chhatrapati award winner Dada Mitra were on the dais. Former Member of Parliament from Nagpur Banwarilal Purohit visited the museum in presence of various senior officials of VHA.
The museum is the brain child of VHA vice-president Sidra.

He is the one who has initiated steps to have the museum at the VHA premises.

The main objective of setting up the museum is to encourage the younger generation of hockey players. The museum has pictures of former hockey who had left the mark in the rich history of Indian hockey. The history that will assist the young and promising players in knowing the history and details of legends. The first phase displays pictures of all Indian Olympic captains since 1928.

“In the second phase, the museum will also have details of Indian World Cup captains, teams, details about Champions Trophies and results, informed Sidhra while speaking on the occasion. The VHA is planning to display short history of legends of Indian hockey. The museum will also house a list and details of Vidarbha captains since 1960. Vice president Kishor Goydani, treasurer Shyam Sharma, joint secretary Pamod Jain, executive member Salim Baig and other were also present. VHA vice-president TN Sidhra conducted the programme while Sanjay Lokhande proposed a vote of thanks.