Published On : Wed, Sep 8th, 2021
Sports News | By Nagpur Today Nagpur News

The List Of Caribbean Premier League Winners From 2013 To 2021


The Caribbean premier league is organized every year, just like the IPL. It was launched in 2013, hence making 2021 its 8th season since its inception. And over the years, the tournament has proved itself and produced some of the most talented cricketers globally. Here is a comprehensive list of all the CPL winnersof this tournament for the last six seasons.

1st Season 2013 – Jamaica Tallawahs

The inaugural season was in 2013 and took place at the Queen’s Park Oval, Port of Spain, in Trinidad and Tobago. In the finals, they played Guyana Amazon Warriors and won by seven wickets. The winning score was 129 slash 3 (17.3 overs). Guyana warriors were the runners-up, scoring 128/5 with 20 overs. During the first season, there were a total of six teams participating.

2nd season 2014 Barbados Trident

In 2014 Guyana Amazon warriors faced Barbados tridents players in the finals. Barbados Tridents won the title by eight wickets by Duckworth Lewis Rules. And for the second season, Guyana became runners time again. Barbados trident batted first and scored 152/6 in 20 overs, where Malik Shoaib made a fifty.

During the chase, Guyana had scored 107/4 in 15.5 overs when rain interrupted the match. The finals of the second season were at Warner Park Basseterre St Kitts and Nevis. The player of the match was Lendil Simmons of the Guyana Amazon Warriors.

3rd season 2015 Trinbago Knight Riders

Season three of the CPL took place at the Queens Park Oval Port of Spain Trinidad and Tobago. Trinbago Knight Riders won the 3rd season by 20 runs beating Barbados Tridents. Trinbago batted first and scored 178/5 restricting Barbados Tridents to 158/4 in 20 overs. In this season’s finals, the player of the match was Dwayne Bravo from Trinbago Knight Riders.

4th season 2016 Jamaica Tallawahs

The winners of the fourth season were the inaugural winner’s Jamaica Tallawahs. The final match was between Jamaica Tallawahs and Guyana Amazon Warriors. Jamaica Tallawahs dismissed the Guyana squad for 93 runs and chased down the total in 12.5 overs to win by nine wickets.

Guyana managed to score 93 runs in 20 overs. The tournament was played at the Warner Park Basseterre St Kitts and Nevis. The player of the matches in this series was Andre Russell from the Jamaica Tallawahs.

5th season 2017 Trinbago Knight Riders

The 2017 season took place at the Brian Lara Cricket Academy in Tarouba, Trinidad, and Tobago winner was the 2015 season winner Trinbago Knight Riders. The winning Trinbago knight riders team scored 136/7 in 19 overs. They won the series by three wickets. St Kitts & Nevis were the runners-up with a score of 135/5 in 20 overs. The player for the series was Chadwick Walton from Guyana Amazon Warriors.

6th season 2018 Trinbago Knight Riders

Trinbago knight riders emerged as another CPL season winner for the second time in a row. They played the finals at Brian Lara Cricket Academy, Tarouba, against Guyana Amazon warriors. Trinbago’s squad won the match by eight wickets with 17.3 overs.

The final score was 150/2 in 17.3 overs, while Guyana amazon warriors posted 147/9 in 20 overs. The player of the season was Colin Munro from the winning team. The win made them three-time Caribbean premier league champions.

7th season 2019 Barbados Tridents

In the 7th season, Barbados Tridents were named CPL winners for the second time. They played against Guyana, which made them runners up for the fifth time. Barbados smashed them by 27 runs scoring 171/6 in 20 overs. The runners-up Guyana Amazon scored 144/9 with 20 overs.

It was their fifth time in the finals without winning a title. The Caribbean premier league 2019 series was played at the Brian Lara Cricket Academy, Tarouba, Trinidad, and Tobago. And the player of the season was Hayden Walsh Jr of the Barbados Tridents.

Those are all the CPL winners of the seasons since its launch and how they have performed thereafter. Keep it here for these and more stories on your favorite players and their teams.