Published On : Mon, Dec 30th, 2013

RTMNU’s 1277 candidates bunk NET of UGC

netNagpur News.

The National Eligibility Test (NET), conducted by the University Grants Commission (UGC), concluded on Sunday. The distinction of the NET was that 620 candidates did not appear for the second session the reason being the disappointing first session. In the first session, 5,700 candidates appeared for the first session while the second session saw 5080 candidates giving the NET. Moreover, majority of candidates felt the first and second paper much easier than the third paper, which according to candidates, was very difficult. Most of the examinees completed their papers before the scheduled time because of no negative marking. The third paper witnessed the students leaving the examination hall even one hour before the full time indicating the difficulty in answering the questions.


A total of 6357 students of Rashtrasant Tukdoji Maharaj Nagpur University (RTMNU) had applied for the NET for the nine centers. In both the sessions, 1277 examinees remained absent for the Test. The UGC had held the NET for 79 subjects in two shifts. The first shift from 9.30 am to 12 noon and the second one from 1.30 pm to 4 pm.


Three papers were optional in NET. The first paper consisted of 60 questions of Teaching and Aptitude Test out of which answers to 50 questions were to be written. The second paper comprised 50 questions on selected subjects. Both these papers carried 100 marks each. The third paper was of 75 questions. The exam did not have negative marking. The passing marks for the first and second paper were 40 per cent each. The third paper is checked after candidates pass the first and second paper and the passing marks for the third paper require 50 per cent. The JRF’s merit list is prepared separately.


The 9 centres UGC had selected include LAD College, Saraswati Vidyalaya, Sitabuldi-based Saraswati Vidyalaya, RS Mundle Arts and Commerce College, Dinanath Junior College, Sevadal Mahila Mahavidyalaya, Kamla Nehru College, Shri Binzani City College, and Mathuradas Mohta College.