Published On : Mon, Aug 31st, 2015

Prez Pranab Mukherjee likely to be in city during NMC’s Shatakottar Swarna Jayanti

President Pranab Mukherjee
Nagpur: Having received consent from President Pranab Mukherjee to attend the 150th Foundation Day of NMC, termed as Shatakottar Swarna Jayanti  (sesquicentennial) celebration, the NMC administration is engrossed in its preparations. The venue for the celebration will be Krida Sankul (Sports Complex), Mankapur.

Taking the opportunity of presidential visit to the orange city, the NMC also intends to get the newly constructed NMC administrative building as well as Bhandewadi based STP (sewerage treatment plant) dedicated to the public, and also the Gouravgranth, a historical document of NMC released at his hands.

In view of President’s visit, a special meeting was held between NMC commissioner Shravan Hardikar and Nagpur CP S P Yadav in terms of suitable security arrangement. A police squad just inspected the Krida Sankul premises, and the entire area will be completely turned into a cantonment during presidential visit.

It is likely that the final draft of the function will be made ready by September 1 and a meeting of all departmental heads will be held with divisional commissioner Anup Kumar, and the programme charted out will be sent to Rashtrapati Bhavan for information. The chief secretary of the state will also be apprised of the programme. After final decision of Rashtrapati Bhavan the protocol measures will be taken up.

According to additional commissioner NMC Pramod Bhusari and secretary NMC Harish Dubey, acting as coordinators of the event, all preparations were last year too for presidential visit, but his visit was cancelled at the eleventh hour.

Doubt still looms
As the NMC is going to celebrate its 150th Foundation Day with great fervour, Rashtrapati Bhavan has been repeatedly requested in this regard, and even public representatives too have made repeated submissions for President’s visit to the city. But, the doubt still looms over the visit of the President.