| | Contact: 8407908145 |
    Published On : Mon, Jul 13th, 2015

    NVCC-AGM: Opponents bite dust; could not thwart Mehadia!

    From Left to Right: newly elected president of NVCC, Prakash Mehadia, vice-presidents, Hemant Gandhi and Arjundas Ahuja and treasurer, Raju Vyas

    From Left to Right: newly elected president of NVCC, Prakash Mehadia, vice-presidents, Hemant Gandhi and Arjundas Ahuja and treasurer, Raju Vyas

    Nagpur: The annual general meeting (AGM) of Nag Vidarbha Chamber of Commerce (NVCC) for year 2015-16 was held on July 12 as per schedule, and the 35-member new executive body was elected through the process of vote-counting that concluded by the late night hours. The new executive body includes newly elected president Prakash Mehadia, and three vice-presidents, namely, Ajay Madan, Hemant Gandhi and Arjundas Ahuja.

    The other elected members of executive body include Abhay Agrawal, Abhishek Jha, Ashok Sanghavi, Bharatkumar Thakkar, Chunnibhai Shah, Farukh Akbani, Gajanan Gupta, Jaiprakash Parekh, Kamlesh Samarth, Manoj Ladaria, Nikhil Kusumgar, Prabhakar Deshmukh, Pradeep Panjawani, Prakash Goel, Pratap Motwani, Rajesh Thakkar, Rajesh Kumar Ohari, Raju Vyas, Rajubhai Makhija, Ramavatar Totala, Ramdas Vanjani, Ramdas Nadar, Ravindra Gupta, Sachin Punyani, Sandeep Agrawal, Sajay Agrawal, Sanjay Saraf, Satish BangShabbir Shakir, Shankar Sugandh and Suryakant Agrawal.

    Elections of secretary, treasurer and 3 joint-secretaries is yet to be made, and they will be elected during the first meeting of newly elected body, within a day of two. It is believed that either Raju Vyas or Jaiprakash Parekh may be made secretary because both are loyalists of Mehadia camp. Similarly, either Jaiprakash Parekh or Raju Vyas may be made treasurer. Among 3 joint-secretaries the name of Sachin Punyani, who has been continuously holding the office, may be reconsidered.

    Members ignored the ‘diktat’ of steering committee

    It is for the first time that the members, who always abided by the steering committee’s diktat, ignored the committee and used their own prudence.

    Mehadia group and Soni-group jumped into the fray

    Dipen Agrawal, Prakash Wadhawani and Mayur Panchamatia of Mehadia group and Radheshyam Sarda and Ramesh Mantri of Manubhai Soni group also jumped into the fray.

    A dramatic turn came during proposal of presidential names

    When the presiding officer demanded the proposal of names for election to the post of NVCC president there were tabled two names–Prakash Mahadia and Manubhai Soni. Soon, members Vijaykumar Jain and Rajukmar Vachuka proposed the name of Saandeep Agrawal as the third contestant for the post of NVCC president.

    This announcement of third name stunned the whole house. The Mehadia camp as well as Agrawal community memebrs started persuading Sandeep Agrawal not to jump into the fray. It was Manubhai Soni who justified the participation of Sandeep Agrawal and thus opposed Mehadia group.

    Sandeep Agrawal then in the name of community’s interest withdrew his name from the fray. Mehadia group in reward made Sandeep Agrawal an executive body member from its group. Thus, Sandeep Agrawal registered his victory with 320 votes.

    Rajeev Ranjan Kushwaha ([email protected])

    Trending In Nagpur
    Stay Updated : Download Our App
    Mo. 8407908145