Published On : Sat, Oct 5th, 2013
Latest News / Sports News | By Nagpur Today Nagpur News

Nikhil Shende, Monica Raut retain glory in the Cross Country, Hingna School steals the show

Nagpur News: The Nagpur City Athletics Club’s (NCAC) Nikhil Shende and South East Central Railway’s (SECR) Monica Raut retained their glory as was expected by winning the District-Level Cross Country Race held on Saturday (October 5). Similarly, Nehru Vidyalaya, Hingna emerged supreme when the school students Santosh Yadav and Nikita Bhuvre won their Under-16 Boys and Under-16 Girls race respectively. Nagorao Bhoyar touched the finishing line first in the race for adult participants in the age group of 40-60 years.


The Cross Country Race was jointly organized by Kalyaneshwar Nagar Sudhar Samiti, Navdurga Utsav Mandal, Hanuman Mandir Seva Samiti, Bharatiya Janata Party (South Nagpur) on the auspices of Nagpur District Athletics Association (NDAA). The Race started at 7 am from Kalyaneshwar Chowk and covered the route of Manewada and Besa Road. Nagpur Mayor Anil Sole first flagged off the Men’s Race while the Women’s Race was flagged off by District Sports Officer Vijay Santan. The Race for Under-16 Boys was shown the green signal by NDAA President L R Malaviya and the Under-16 Girls Race was flagged off by NMC’s Health Committee Chairman Ramesh Shingare. The Race for Adults was green signalled by the NDAA Executive President S J Anthony. The prominent personalities present on the occasion include Corporators Sudhakar Kohale, Singare, Pravin Datke, Chakole and others.


The prizes were presented by former National President of BJP Nitin Gadkari. The BJP MLA Vikas Kumbhare was the chief guest of the prize distribution function. The programme was presided over by NDAA Executive President S J Anthony. The Divisional Sports Director Dr Jaiprakash Dubale was Special Invitee. Others who were seated on dais include Kailash Chute (President, South Nagpur BJP),Corporators Sharad Bante, Saroj Bahadure, Swati Akhatkar, Sarika Nandurkar, Satish Holey, and NDAA President Umesh Naidu.

The programme was compered by NDAA Secretary Sharad Suryavanshi while Sanjay Chakole proposed a vote of thanks.