Published On : Tue, Jun 23rd, 2015

New appointments on VSDB announced


Nagpur: The Governor of Maharashtra Vidyasagar Rao has appointed news members on Vidarbha Statutory Development Board (VSDB). They include Adv Madhukarrao Kimmatkar (Nagpur), Kapil Chadrayan (Nagpur), Ravindra Deorao Kolhe (Amravati), Kishor Meghe (Yavatmal) and Anand Abhay Bang (Gadchiroli). Adv Kimmatkar, who has been already a member of previous body of VSDB, has been re-appointed on the Board. For the time being, the appointment of chairman on this board as well as on various other boards is awaited.
It may be mentioned here that the VSDB had been constituted to remove the backlog of Vidarbha in various under-developed departments of the government. It was done to replace the Kelkar Committee which was previously appointed to determine the regional imbalance in the state.
For a long time, the new appointments on VSDB were awaited as its earlier officials including member secretary had moved to their parent departments, the functioning of VSDB was totally paralised.
Moreover there were reports that the VSDB failed to remove backlog of Vidarbha and its officials were not working properly. Adv Kimmatkar who is expert in the study of backlog of Vidarbha had alleged that the Western Maharashtra politicians were not cooperating with VSDB in removal of backlog, and Marathwada was always favoured in terms of government funding for development.
Now, after VSDB being restructured all eyes are set on its functioning in terms of removal of backlog.