Published On : Mon, Jan 29th, 2018

‘Netra’ band enthrals scribes with old, new melodies at annual get-together on R-Day

Nagpur: Musicians and singers of ‘Netra’ band enthralled the audience with old and new melodies during the cultural evening at the annual get-together of journalists and their family members organised jointly by Tilak Patrakar Bhavan Trust (TPBT), Nagpur Union of Working Journalists (NUWJ) and Patrakar Club of Nagpur on Friday. The programme was held at Press Club Lawn on the occasion of Republic Day. Earlier, the national tricolour was unfurled atop Tilak Patrakar Bhavan, Panchsheel Square in the morning.

During the cultural evening, singers Shefali Chaurasia, Siddhant and Brijesh Pande won the hearts with their songs and Ghazals. They were accompanied by musicians Vinay Kumar (Dholak), Kaustubh (Key board) and Akshay (octopad).

Guinness World Record holder and celebrity chef Vishnu Manohar was the chief guest. Pradip Kumar Maitra, President of Tilak Patrakar Bhavan Trust (TPBT) and Patrakar Club of Nagpur, Bramhashankar Tripathi, NUWJ President and Secretary of Press Club, Shirish Borkar, General Secretary of NUWJ &TPBT were prominently present on the dais.

Award winning journalists Ram Bhakre (Loksatta), Kartik Lokhande (The Hitavada), Praveen Lonkar (Maharashtra Times), Sarita Kaushik (ABP Majha), Rajendra Diwe (The Hitavada) and Rahul Pande (The Hitavada) were felicitated by chief guest Vishnu Manohar by presenting them with mementos and bouquets.

Meritorious children of journalists – Shahla Sarfaraz Siddiqui, Gargi Vivek Huddar, Sameer Tikaram Sahu, Shrijan Neeraj Nandan, Samruddhi Nitin Totewar, Abhijeet Chandrashekhar Bobde, Aman Tikaram Sahu – were presented cash prizes by chief guest Vishnu Manohar for scoring more than 60 per cent marks in the HSC and SSC examinations. The prizes were sponsored by Ms Harsha Dubey in the memory of senior journalists late Satyanaryan Dubey and Vivek Dubey.

After the felicitation ceremony, the chief guest Vishnu Manohar presented a hit number and couple of famous dialogues of noted actor Nana Patekar.

Shreya Hemant Salodkar (child artist), Pruthika Wankar (child artist) Mamta Khandekar (Lokshahi Varta), Rashmi Ramesh Marulkar, Ram Bhakre (Loksatta), Naresh Dongre (Lokmat), Rajeshwar Mishra (Yugdharma) and Joseph Rao (Asian Age) also presented old and new songs and enthralled the audience.

Senior journalist Vishwas Indurkar was honoured by the chief guest on his election as the Director of Vidarbha Premier Cooperative Housing Society for the second consecutive term.

Sushma Subhash Deopujari was also feted for taking an initiative of conducting Housie every Saturday at the Press Club.

The sound was provided by Manoj and lighting arrangements were made by Sandeep Baraskar.

Joseph Rao, Vice President, Patrakar Club of Nagpur, Rahul Pande, Joint Secretary, Patrakar Club of Nagpur, Ramu Bhagwat, Nitin Totewar, Sarita Kaushik and other office-bearers worked hard to make the event a grand success.

The programme was conducted by Shirish Borkar. Bramhashankar Tripathi proposed a vote of thanks.