Published On : Wed, Sep 19th, 2018

Nagpur’s Guardian Minister among the lowest earning MLAs in India

Nagpur: Nagpur District Guardian Minister and State Energy Minister Chandrashekhar Bawankule has found place in the list of lowest earning MLAs in the nation. Bawankule has been accorded this feat in a research presented by multi-research agency Association for Democratic Reform (ADR) in Gujarat’s Ahmedadbad on Monday.

It may mentioned that of the total 4086 MLAs in the country, 3145 MLAs have furnished details of their yearly income. Of them, the affidavits of 941 MLAs were studied. Following this, the agency shortlisted 614 names and eventually came up with two separate lists of 20 each – one with highest income and other one with lowest yearly earning.

Among the lowest earning category, Bawankule is placed at 20th position with net yearly earning of Rs 9 lakh 9 thousand 384. With this he has emerged as the lowest earning minister in state cabinet as well. In the lowest annual income list, MLA from Miraj in Sangli district Suresh Khade is ranked at 9th position with annual income of Rs 39,694.

In the research, four MLAs from Maharashtra are placed among top 20 highest earning MLAs of India. Of them, Mangal Prabhat Lodha of Lodha Group comes up as the highest earning MLA in Maharashtra with annual income of Rs 34 crore 66 lakh 82 thousand 610. In the highest annual income list Congress MLA from Hosekote seat in Bangalore rural N. Nagarjuna is ranked topmost with yearly earning of Rs 157 crores.

At no 6, Dilip Sopal, NCP MLA from Barsi Vidhan Sabha seat in Solapur earns Rs 9.85 crore. Prashant Thakur, BJP MLA from Panvel seat in Raigarh earns Rs 5.61 crore yearly. Former chief minister of Maharashtra Prithviraj Chavan, who had stated agriculture as his source of income during 2014 polls, is MLA from Karad seat in Satara district. He is ranked last with annual income of Rs 4.56 crore.

In its study, ADR had included names of 26 MLAs from the state. Of them, 13 MLAs belong to BJP while 4 MLAs each are from Congress and NCP. Besides, two other MLAs were also included in the survey.