Published On : Mon, Nov 11th, 2013

Nagpur women’s volleyball team wins Inter-District Volleyball tourney


Nagpur Today: As expected by the Volleyball followers of orange city, Nagpur women’s Volleyball team lift the title of the Gayatridevi Agrawal Memorial 45th Maharashtra State Senior Inter-District Volleyball Tournament in the finals which was organised by Samarth Vyayam Shala under the auspices of Nagpur District Volleyball Association on November 10, 2013.

In the strong and exciting final match, Nagpur Women team defeated Pune by 25-17, 25-18, 19-25, 24-26 and 15-12 with the set score of 3-2. Captain of Women’s team, Shweta Gajbhiye showed her most excellent skills to notch the victory against Pune where Diksha Dewalkar, Bhagyaree Dharmik and Sapna Meshram displayed an exceptional performance for Nagpur.

On the other hand in Men’s division, Pune beat Nagpur by 20-25, 25-21, 25-18, 19-25 and 15-7. Nagpur players Captain Saurabh Rokde, Ram Andani, Parth Tiwari and Pranav Thakre played well but somehow deprived of fuel.

These two winning teams Nagpur (Women’s) and Pune (Men’s) will represent the Maharashtra in National Volleyball Championship, which will be held at Muradabad in January.

At the prize distribution ceremony, Pranav Thakre was declared ‘Player of the Tournament (Men)’ and awarded with Bajaj Pulser sponsored by Vice-President, VFI Vijay Dangare.

Also, Diksha Dewalkar was declared ‘Player of the tournament (Women)’ and awarded by Vespa for her brilliant performance in the tournament, sponsored by Shri. Jaiswal Group.

Prominent persons who graced the occasion due to their presence were Chairman Laxminagar Zone  Gopal Bohare, Vice-President, VFI Vijay Dangre, Secretary, MSVA  Balasaheb Suryawanshi, Chatrapati Awardee Vivek Deshpande, Member, Maharashtra Olympic Association Ravindra Kamble and President, Samarth Vyayam Shala Vijay Sunder.


Final team positions are:

In Women’s category:
1) Nagpur
2) Pune
3) Nashik
6) Sangali
7) Yavatmal
8) Kolhapur
9) Amravati

In Men’s category:
1) Pune
2) Nagpur
3) Mumbai-Suburban
4) Mumbai- City
6) Thane
7) Akola
8) Jalna
9) Kolhapur