Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!
    | | Contact: 8407908145 |
    Published On : Wed, Mar 26th, 2014

    Nagpur Lok Sabha seat: Muttemwar, Gadkari, Damania among 33 in fray


    Nagpur News : Sitting Congress MP Vilas Muttemwar, BJP leader Nitin Gadkari and Aam Admi Party member Anjali Damania are among 33 candidates left in the fray for Nagpur Lok Sabha seat which goes to the polls on April 10.

    A total of 51 persons had filed nominations. Of these papers of 6 were rejected during scrutiny on March 24.

    On the last day of withdrawals today, 12 candidates, including former MP and Forward Bloc nominee Jambuwantrao Dhote and Bharip Bahujan Mahasangh candidate Raju Lokhande, took back their papers, leaving 33 in the ring.

    In the adjoining Ramtek Lok Sabha constituency, 23 candidates are left in the field. Thirty candidates had filed papers and three were rejected. Four nominees withdrew from the race today.

    Sitting Congress MP Mukul Wasnik, Shiv Sena candidate Krupal Tumane, Pratap Goswamy of AAP and BSP’s Kiran Patankar are among contestants in Ramtek.

    Returning Officers, Abhishek Krishna (Nagpur) and Punjabrao Deshmukh (Ramtek), told a press conference this evening that about 80,000 new entries have been made and the final electoral roll will be published on April 2.

    In Nagpur, two electronic voting machines with 16 candidates each and a third machine having one nominee and NOTA option will be used for polling. In Ramtek, two EVMs will be pressed into service, they added.

    Stay Updated : Download Our App
    Mo. 8407908145