Published On : Thu, Oct 31st, 2019

Nagpur dentist bags top prize at Asia’s largest Filmmaking Festival.

A team from Nagpur led by Dr. Rishab Joshi brought home ‘Platinum Film of the Year’ award in Professional Category at India Film Project 2019 for their short film ‘PAUL’ which was screened at Mehboob Studio, Mumbai on 13th October 2019.

India Film Project 50 hour filmmaking challenge is celebrating its 9th season and is Asia’s largest content creation festival held annually in Mumbai. A total of 35,000 filmmakers participated from 14 countries and 325 cities in this grand event.

Dr. Rishab Joshi, is a dentist who participated in India Film Project last year as well and his film ‘Wake Up!’ won 3 awards – Best film, Best actor, Best script in the amateur category. “Paul” is his second film under the banner of films. “Paul, is based on a real life story of Paul Stamets, an American who discovered that natural medicines like mushrooms can cure modern diseases like Alzheimer’s, Dementia, etc.

The film revolves around the day that changed his life forever”. Rishab adds, “The film will soon be screened across India at PVR Cinemas and will also get telecast on MTV in the coming months.” He says “It was really a difficult task to make this film in under 50 hours but we gave our 100% and the result is for everyone to see. The best part about winning this award was the audience reaction during the screening. We were delighted and humbled to receive such a positive response and appreciation.”

The film was written, directed, shot and edited by Dr. Rishab S. Joshi and Produced by his brother Dr. Rigved S. Joshi. Music was produced by Rajat Godde. The team includes actors Santosh Hirasinghani, Ashish Maske, Rohit Koramkar, Rahul Meshram, Shreeya Chhokra. Assistant director Hardik Manmode and Aerial shots by Harish Dafe. “The whole movie was shot in Nagpur, our whole team hails from the city and we’re proud to bring the trophy to this city.” says Dr. Rishab.

The jury this year was a team of renowned directors consisting of Pradeep Sarkar (Parineeta, Mardaani, Helicopter Eela), Abhishek Chaubey (Udta Punjab, Ishqiya, Sonchiriya), Anjali Menon (Bangalore days, Koode, Kerala Cafe) and Pan Nalin (Angry Indian Goddesses).