Published On : Sun, Mar 1st, 2015

Mufti Mohammad Sayeed new CM of J&K, PM Modi attends


Ending 49-days of Governor rule, Jammu and Kashmir on Sunday got a new government with veteran PDP leader Mufti Mohammad Sayeed taking oath as Chief Minister of a 25-member cabinet which marked the entry of BJP for the first time in the state government.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, along with BJP chief Amit Shah, veteran leaders LK Advani and Murli Manohar Joshi and Haryana Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar attended the ceremony, which took place at Jammu University’s General Zorawar Singh Auditorium.

While Mufti, Nirmal Singh and others took oath in English, Hindi and Urdu, Lal Singh took oath in Dogri.
Sources say that Mufti initially wanted to begin with a small team, but agreed to have his full team on day one. This idea behind it was to avoid any further speculations and infighting in the party.


Mufti Sayeed…Chief Minister
Nirmal Singh….Deputy Chief Minister
Cabinet ministers
Abdul Rehman Bhat (Veery)
Chander Parkash Ganga
Javed Mustafa Mir
Lal Singh
Abdul Haq Khan
Bali Bhagat
Syed Basharat Ahmed Bukhari
Sukhnandan Choudhary
Choudhary Zulfikar Ali
Sajjad Gani Lone
Haseeb Drabu
Ghulam Nabi Lone
She’d Mohammad Altaf Bukhari
Imran Hussain Ansari
Nayeem Akhtar

Minister of State

Tsering Dorjey
Abdul Majeed Paddar
Sunil Kumar Sharma
Mohammad Ashraf Mir
Abdul Ghani Kohli
Priya Sethi
Pawan Gupta
Ashiya Naqqash