Published On : Thu, Mar 22nd, 2018

Maharashtra Woodball Championships at Nagpur from 23 Mar

Representational Pic

Nagpur: The thirteenth Senior, ninth Junior and sixth Sub-Junior State Woodball Championships has been organised by Woodball Association of Maharashtra (WAM) from March 23 to 25 here at the Nagpur University ground.

WAM Secretary Ajay Sontakke said that 33 districts will participate in three categories – seniors, juniors and sub-juniors. The matches will be held in morning, afternoon and evening sessions. The participating teams are divided in various groups and the matches will be played in team event, individual, doubles and mixed doubles. Teams will reach the city by tomorrow evening and they will be provided accommodation at the MLA Hostel, informed Ajay Sontakke while addressing a press conference.

Mayor Nanda Jichkar will inaugurate the three-day tourney on Friday at 10 am. NMC sports committee chairman Nagesh Sahare will preside over the function. Corporator Kishor Jichkar, Sunil Hiranwar, director of department of sports and physical education of Nagpur University Kalpana Jadhav and coordinator of post graduate teaching department of physical education Madhavi Mardikar will be the guests of honour.

The prize distribution function will be held on Sunday at 5 pm. MLA Milind Mane will be the chief guest, while MLA Ashish Deshmukh will preside over the function.

Attractive trophies and medals will be given to the first three winners in each category. Noted national and international sportspersons of the city will be honoured on the occasion.

Meanwhile, Woodball Association of India and WAM are jointly holding the Senior, Junior and Sub-Junior Nationals at the same venue from March 29 to April 1. Twenty four state teams will vie for top honours.

Last year the meet was held at Bhivani and Haryana. Sanjiv Kumar (IAS) will inaugurate the tournament. Karamsingh Karma will preside over the function.

The prize distribution function will be organized on April 1 at 5 pm. D Kanakratnam will be the chief guest on the occasion. MLA and president of WAI Ashish Deshmukh will preside over the function. Milind Mane will also grace the occasion.

Woodball association officials Kishor Bagde, Pravin Manwatkar, Suraj Yevtikar, Sudhir Kahate, Samir Arbat, Naresh Suryavanshi, Piyush Ambulkar and Girish Gadge were present at the press conference.