Published On : Thu, Oct 20th, 2016

LITOSA’s Kojagiri Meet is a runaway success!


LITOSA, the Alumni Association of Laxminarayan Institute of Technology organised a get-together of LITians on October 16, 2016 at Chitnavis Centre, Ngapur to celebrate Kojagiri. Over 150 LITians from Nagpur along with their family members made this event a runaway success. The programme was planned as a curtain-raiser for the International Conclave & Global Alumni Meet being held at the same venue from December 23 to 25, 2016.

LITOSA embodies the past, present and future of Laxminarayan Institute of Technology and is a cohesive union of thousands of alumni spread worldwide. To foster and nurture fellowship amongst LITians, LITOSA Executive Committee organized this “music, masti and dosti” filled programme on the serene moon-lit evening of Kojagiri or SharadPurnima. The evening unfolded with a brief formal programme graced by Dr. Vilas Sapkal, Chairman of All India Board of Post Graduate Education and Research in Engineering & Technology, AICTE and former Vice Chancellor of RTM Nagpur University as well as an alumnus of LIT from 1984 batch as Chief Guest. Dr. Raju Mankar, Director LIT and Patron LITOSA graced the dais as Guest of Honour along with senior office bearers of LITOSA Kamal Narayan Seetha, Chairman; Ajay Deshpande, Secretary; Pradeep Khandelwal, Vice Chairman and Jagdish Thakral, Program Convener. Jagdish Thakral outlined the programme while Ajay Deshpande spoke about LITOSA’s objectives. Sunil Mundada, Head – Global Meet briefed the gathering about the International Conclave & Global Alumni Meet in December. Pradeep Khandelwal informed about the registrations and sponsorships for Global Meet in December. Kamal Seetha shared mission and vision of LITOSA while Dr. Raju Mankaren lightened the gathering on various steps taken to strengthen the institute-alumni bond and appealed all LITians to come forward in large numbers to create a vibrant alumni forum.

Dr. Vilas Sapkal, in his address, stressed upon the need for academicians to be stake holders in framing research policy. He expressed a strong belief that LIT and its alumni together can indeed be the highest ranked centre of education and research in Chemical Engineering & Technology. Kalpana Rewatkar Yeole and Amalesh Purohit conducted the proceedings while Vikram Kishore Sharma proposed vote of thanks.

Prominently present were eminent past faculty Dr. B. S. Chandak, Dr. G. S. Natrajan, Dr. Gurtu, Dr. Sonune, Dr. P. V. Patil, Dr. S. D. Dawande, Dr. Shastri and Dr. Gogte as well as present faculty Dr. Mahesh kumar Yenkie, Dr. Madhukar Bhotmange, Dr. Sameer Wagh, Dr. Shirsat, Dr. A. J. Agrawal and Dr. Shende. Veteran LITiansfrom 1960s to young graduates of 2016 actively participated to create an environment of bonhomie and fellowship and rekindled many nostalgic memories.The formal programme was followed by a musical extravaganza with karaoke and some professional and many amateur engineer-singers enthralled all gathered with their talent. The evening concluded with dinner and a promise to create an even larger show of affection and gratitude towards their alma mater during the 3-day December event.