Published On : Sat, Jan 9th, 2016

Khopde retained as City BJP President

Krishna-KhopdeNagpur: Putting all speculations to rest, BJP has decided to retain Krishna Khopde as President of City Unit. In a meeting held on Saturday, majority of top leaders unanimously favoured to hand over the city unit reins to East Nagpur MLA Krishna Khopde again. Similarly, the BJP also decided on the new team for Assembly constituency-wise units.

The three-year tenure of Khopde as President of City BJP has ended. The party is giving new touch to the organization in city. In the meeting of top leaders, seal of approval for Khopde’s name was given and he will again head the city unit. Similarly, Corporator Mahendra Raut has been made East Nagpur Assembly segment President while Sanjay Thakre will be chief of South Nagpur. Kisan Gawande has been given the responsibility of West Nagpur and Prakash Bhoyar will look after South-West Nagpur. Dilip Gaur has been appointed President of North Nagpur Assembly constituency.

During the tenure of Khopde as City BJP President, the party swept the Assembly elections and won all the six seats. Khopde himself emerged victorious the second time with huge margin from East Nagpur. He defeated the Congress stalwart Satish Chaturvedi and entered the Assembly for the first time. The second time he forced Congress’ Abhijit Wanjari to lick the dusts. Khopde was made City BJP Chief after the then President Anil Sole became Mayor.

Thereafter, Khopde handled the responsibility for the consecutive three years. A large numbers BJP workers, who see Khopde as easily accessible and easily available leader, were demanding Khopde as President of city unit again.