Published On : Sat, May 4th, 2019

Khaparkheda TPS bags award for zero discharge water

Nagpur: Khaparkheda Thermal Power Station of Maharashtra State Electricity Generation Company (Mahagenco), bagged best plant award for zero discharge water in 500 MW or below category.

The awards in various categories in water optimisation competition organised by Mission Energy Foundation were declared on Friday at a conference held at Vivanta by Taj, Dwarka, New Delhi.

Prominent power plants from all over India including National Thermal Power Corporation Limited (NTPC) along with private power plants participated in the competition. The competition was tough looking at the level of optimisation achieved by many plants, especially NTPC’s power plants.

However, the expeditious efforts taken to utilise maximum water from Waregaon ash bund and significantly improving the Waregaon recovery and at the same time bringing down the trade effluents for the 30-year-old plant was awarded in a stiff competition. The award assumes special significance as the entire water data was collected directly from Central Electricity Authority (CEA) and the individual competing plants had no role to play at all in any form for data collection.

Rajesh Patil, Chief Engineer, Khaparkheda TPS, recognised the importance of Mahagenco top management in pursuing water conservation efforts to be taken at Khaparkheda. He thanked all the top officials along with Chandrant Thotwe, Director (Operations) for overwhelming support extended from time to time in water optimisation. He also appreciated the rigorous and timely efforts taken by all employees, sectional heads and middle management of Khaparkheda TPS to achieve water optimisation at Khaparkheda with short term and long-term planning.