Published On : Mon, Apr 22nd, 2019

Green activists spread awareness on environment protection

NMC, Green Vigil Foundation, Earth Day Network hold programme to mark Earth Day

Nagpur: Nagpur Municipal Corporation, Green Vigil Foundation and Earth Day Network jointly organized a programme to mark Earth Day 2019 on Monday by conducting a citizen outreach campaign at Children’s Traffic Park, Dharampeth, Nagpur.

The devastating oil spill in Santa Barbara, California in 1969 prompted former US Senator Gaylord Nelson to initiate a movement in America that led to bringing millions of Americans on street on April 22, 1970, making it the first Earth Day to protest against the deterioration of environment.

Following this year’s Earth Day theme – ‘Protect Our Species’, members of Green Vigil Foundation carrying colourful posters and placards informed the people about fast extinction of millions of species of mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians, arthropods, fish, corals, their causes and consequences.

Green Vigil members told people that globally, reduction in wildlife population is caused by human activities like deforestation, habitat destruction, poaching, unsustainable agriculture, pollution, global warming and climate change.

Surbhi Jaiswal, Co-ordinator, Earth Day Network, India quipped, we humans being super species have overexploited our natural resources, polluted all environmental components, destructed forests, disturbed the entire ecosystem. Sadly, we have forgotten that we are a part of it and will be worst hit by dire consequences. So, it’s a wake-up call to act before it’s too late.

Karuna Singh, Regional Director South Asia and Country Director, Earth Day Network, India, appreciated the efforts of Green Vigil Foundation and Nagpur Municipal Corporation for environment protection in the city.

The campaign was conducted under the able guidance of Municipal Commissioner Abhijit Bangar and Additional Commissioners Aziz Sheikh and Ram Joshi

Kaustav Chatterjee, Surbhi Jaiswal, Mehul Kosurkar, Kalyani Vaidya, Sheetal Choudhary, Vikash Yadav, Bishnudeo Yadav, Kartiki Kawale, Sarang More, Ruta Dharmadhikari, Chinmay Dhiman, Vaibhav Pandey, Indrayani Thakare, Prajakta Pusadkar, Deendayal Tembhekar and others worked hard for the success of the campaign.