Published On : Sun, Aug 7th, 2016

Gadkari says Nagpur Metro will be completed by Dec 2016, officers says “Impossible”

nmc nagpurNagpur: Union minister Nitin Gadkari has said that the Metro train will start running by December 2016. When media discussed this aspect with the top officials of Metro Rail, they refused to comment on this issue. One of the officials expressed surprise and said that starting Metro by December 2016 does not seem possible, however, the Metro work is underway at full speed.

Earlier on Saturday Gadkari said that the work on the 9,000 crore Nagpur Metro Rail project is going on full speed. The Nagpur Municipal Corporation elections are scheduled for next year is matter of prestige and the first phase of the Nagpur Metro will be completed by December 2016 and Metro train will soon run in Nagpur.

Gadkari was speaking at the installation ceremony of BJP Mahila Aghadi at Smriti Mandir, Reshimbagh. Gadkari further informed that the development work in the city is on the fast track and the BJP will get a clear majority in NMC elections as it is in power in Central and State government as well. Development works worth 22,000 crore are underway in Nagpur city.

Around 50,000 houses are being constructed for the poor under Central government”s Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana. Ambazari and Telankhadi lakes are being developed as tourist spots, said Gadkari. He also said that the water drainage system in the city is damaged and resulting into waterlogging during rains. He asked for cleaning of the nullahs before the start of monsoon.

Nagpur Municipal Corporation (NMC) is the only corporation in the country which has implemented 24/7 water supply. Nagpur is also the first city which introduced the recycling of polluted water and its reuse. The corporation will also get 16 crore per year for this project. Besides, 70 green buses will soon run on the bio-CNG generating out of the recycling of this water, informed Gadkari.

BJP city head MLA Sudhakar Kohale presided over the function.Those prominently present were MLAs Krishna Khopde, Vikas Kumbhare, Dr Milind Mane, ex-mayors Archana Dehankar, Kalpana Pandey, Maya Iwnate, Sandip Joshi, Sandip Jadhav, Maya Thawre, president of BJP Mahila Aghadi Nanda Jichkar, State women’s commission member Neeta Thakre, Kishore Palandurkar, Bhojraj Dumbe and others. City president of BJP Mahila Aghadi Neha Jichkar felicitating Union road transport & shipping minister Nitin Gadkari during the installation ceremony of BJP Mahila Aghadi at Smriti Mandir, Reshimbagh on Saturday. Also seen are MLAs Sudhakar Kohale, Krishna Khopde, Vikas Kumbhare, Dr Milind Mane, chairman of water works committee Sandip Joshi, former mayors Kalpana Pandey, Archana Dehankar and Maya Iwnate.