Published On : Tue, Sep 23rd, 2014

Five candidates file nominations in Nagpur district


Five candidates filed their nomination papers on September 22, 2014 for four seats in Nagpur district for the ensuing Assembly elections slated to be held on October 15, 2014.

Three Independents nominees filed their papers, while one is from CPI and the other is from Democratic Secular Party (DSP).

There are 12 Assembly constituencies in Nagpur district including six in the city. However, one interesting thing to note is the fact that candidates from other main stake-holders like BJP, Congress, Shiv Sena, MNS and NCP have refrained from filing papers since an uneasy uncertainty prevails over the possibility of either continuation of alliances or divorce from the very long alliance on account of seat-sharing tangle.

The filing of nominations is likely to gather momentum somewhere after September 24, 2014 after the end of “Pitru Paksha”. However, September 27, 2014 is the last date for filing of nomination papers.

The candidates who filed their papers on September 22, 2014 are: Chandrshekhar Kahrpuria (Katol), Rajesh Thakur (Hingana), and Vinod Nitnavre (Umred)– all Independents, Shyam Kale (Hingana) of CPI and Jamil Khan Pathan of Democratic Secular Party (Kamptee).

File Pic

File Pic