Published On : Wed, Jul 15th, 2015

Execution by noose becomes inevitable in certain cases


Details about execution:

  • Nagpur Central Prison-21
  • Yerwada Central Prison-35
  • Last one executed was Mohammed Ajmal Amir Kasab
  • Yakub Abdul Razak Memon to be executed in Nagpur Jail soon

Nagpur: Hanging is the method of execution in the civilian court system, according to the Indian Criminal Procedure Code. Under the 1950 Army Act, hanging as well as shooting are both listed as official methods of execution in the military court-martial system. India is among the top ten countries to hand out death penalties. A total of 64 people were awarded death penalties in 2014, as recorded in a survey “Death Sentence and Executions 2014″ by human rights NGO, Amnesty International. In the last eight years, the number of death sentences was the maximum in 2011 and the least in 2009.

One Prison Official on condition of anonymity told Nagpur Today that there’s a certain cruelty in waiting to be hanged, because you have kept so many people on death row. Some of them spend 20-25 years on death row, anticipating their own death every day.


The latest reports claim that out of the 402 death row convicts, the maximum are from Uttar Pradesh, whose jails have 131 such condemned prisoners. It is followed by Karnataka with 60, Maharashtra with 49, Bihar with 31, West Bengal with 20, Delhi with 18, Tamil Nadu with 16, Kerala with 14 and Jharkhand with 12.

21 prisoners executed so far in Nagpur Central Jail

While 21 prisoners have been executed in Nagpur Central Prison with the first one on August 25, 1950 and the last on April 17, 1973, as many as 35 prisoners were executed in Yerwada Central Prison in Maharashtra. The last prisoner to be executed in Maharashtra was Mohammed Ajmal Amir Kasab        who was executed on November 21, 2012 in Yerwada Central Prison.

The twenty one prisoners who were executed in Nagpur Central Jail include:

1.  Pantheyadi Nandal was executed on August 25, 1950

2. Jakiya Narayan was executed on September 22, 1950

3. Siparam Nuho was executed on February 20, 1950

4. Sitaram Parayya        was executed on June 26, 1951

5. Iramann Upyorsi was executed on August 3, 1951

6. Bhamya Goda was executed on October 4, 1951

7. Sardar Yaana was executed on January 12, 1952

8. Niyto Kaanhu was executed on August 3, 1952

9. Abdul R Imrankhan was executed on August 5, 1952

10. Ganpath Sakharam was executed on September 2, 1952

11. Sakhram Foksu was executed on September 24, 1952

12. Vinsa Hari was executed on March 19, 1953

13. Jageshwar Maroto was executed on June 19, 1953

14. Premlal Amrish was executed on July 4, 1953

15. Lotan Wala was executed on September 15, 1953

16. Dayaram Balaji was executed on February 3, 1956

17. Abhaskhan Wazirkhan was executed on August 28, 1959

18. Bajirao Tawanno was executed on February 15, 1960

19. Shyamrao Pandurang was executed on July 8, 1970

20. Nana Gaanghaji was executed on January 29, 1973

21. Moriram Shadyaji Godan was executed on April 17, 1973

The chief accused of 1993 Mumbai blasts, Yakub Abdul Razak Memon aka ‘Tiger Memon’ is the sole death row convict in the serial blasts case. Yakub after he was sentenced to death by the Terrorist and Disruptive Actives (Prevention) Act court for criminal conspiracy and financing air tickets to send co-conspirators for arms and RDX training to Pakistan. 257 people lost their lives in the 1993 Mumbai blasts. The Supreme Court had while convicting Yakub Abdul Razak Memon, sentenced him to be hanged to death. He may be hanged in Nagpur Central Prison on July 30, 2015.

…..  Ravikant Kamble/Samuel Gunashekran