Published On : Wed, May 15th, 2019

EC stops all campaigning in Bengal

The Election Commission has taken a tough decision and ordered that no poll campaigning will be held in 9 parliamentary constituencies of West Bengal – Dum Dum, Barasat, Basirhat, Jaynagar, Mathurapur, Jadavpur, Diamond Harbour, South and North Kolkata from 10 pm tomorrow till the conclusion of polls.

The poll panel said that this was the first time that they had imposed Article 324 for the first time.

Speaking at a press conference, the EC said, “The Commission is deeply anguished at the vandalism done to the statue of Vidyasagar. It is hoped that the vandals are traced by the state administration.”

Further addressing the media, the EC said, “ADG CID, Rajiv Kumar stands relieved and attached to MHA. He should report to MHA by 10 am tomorrow. Principal Secy, Home & Health Affairs WB govt stands relieved from his current charge immediately for having interfered in process of conducting polls by directing WB CEO.”

The decision came after the state witnessed unparalleled violence on Tuesday when BJP president Amit Shah took out a road show in the state’s capital — Kolkata.

Parts of the city plunged into a welter of violence as his convoy was attacked with stones by alleged TMC supporters from inside the hostel of Vidyasagar College, triggering a clash between supporters of the two parties, officials said.

Furious BJP supporters retaliated and were seen exchanging blows with their TMC rivals outside the college entrance.