Published On : Thu, Dec 4th, 2014

Deal done: Shiv Sena to get 5 Cabinet, 7 MoS ranks in Fadnavis Govt; swearing-in on Dec 5

Nagpur: After days of bitter feud post alliance break-up, the BJP and the Shiv Sena will once again come together this time for sharing power in Maharashtra. Finally, the deal is done. The ‘Roaring Tigers’ have been tamed and joining the Ring after a series of meetings, terms and talks, and the offers.


File Pic

Addressing a press conference, Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis on Thursday announced that Shiv Sena will join his ministry. Fadnavis said there would be 12 ministers — 5 Cabinet Ministers and 7 Ministers of State — from the Shiv Sena in the Cabinet. Around 10 BJP MLAs will also be inducted into the Ministry, he added.

Shiv Sena also agreed to give up its claim for Home Minister and Deputy Chief Minister posts thus paving the way for the saffron partnership to provide a stable government in Maharashtra. The oath-taking ceremony will be held at Vidhan Bhawan premises at 4 pm on Friday (December 5). Presently, there are eight Cabinet and two Ministers of State in the Fadnavis Ministry sworn-in on October 31.

“I called Uddhav Thackeray and said that talks for an alliance must be held, he was also positive about it,” the CM said and added “We have been together for 25 years…this Government needs to work for five years.” Fadnavis further said that both the parties have fixed the modalities and will run the Government together.

Fadnavis said that for some reasons the long time partners could not fight elections jointly but the verdict of the people was in favour of the BJP and the Shiv Sena and against the Congress and the NCP.

The important portfolios which have been offered to Sena include ministry of industry, public works department, energy, and water resources.

Apart from the Cabinet power share, Sena and BJP leaders have also drawn a road map for the coming local body elections beginning from March next year. The Sena and BJP leaders on Monday held meetings which went on till Tuesday 2.45 am to thrash out the differences related to portfolios and total number of Cabinet berths in the Government.