Published On : Sun, Oct 19th, 2014

Anil Deshmukh, Rajendra Mulak, Nitin Raut among 14 former ministers who lost poll battle

Nagpur:  Senior Cogress leaders Narayan Rane and Harshwardhan Patil were two of the fourteen former Maharashtra ministers, who have lost this year’s state Assembly elections.

While former Industries Minister Narayan Rane lost to Vaibhav Naik of Shiv Sena from Kudal constituency, former Co-operation minister and sitting MLA Harshawardhan Patil lost to Dattatraya Bharne of NCP by a margin of about 14,000 votes in Indapur.

Apart from Rane and Patil, twelve other former ministers in the erstwhile Congress-NCP government were trounced at the hustings.

NCP heavyweight from Navi Mumbai and former Excise Minister Ganesh Naik lost his Belapur seat to Manda Mhatre of BJP.

Former Health Minister Suresh Shetty (Congress) came a poor third in Andheri East as Ramesh Latke of Shiv Sena won the seat polling 52,817 votes, followed by Sunil Yadav of BJP.

Former Minister of state for Relief and Rehabilitation Suresh Dhas (NCP) lost to BJP’s Bhimrao Donde in Ashti in Beed district.

Former Social Justice Minister Shivajirao Moghe (Congress) was defeated by BJP’s Raju Todsam in Arni in Yavatmal district.

Former Sports Minister Padmakar Valvi of Congress was defeated in Shahada constituency, losing to Udaysing Kocheru of BJP.

Former Tourism Minister Sanjay Deotale, who had switched to BJP on the eve of elections, lost to Shiv Sena’s Suresh Dhanorkar in Warora. Former Food and Civil Supplies Minister Anil Deshmukh (NCP) lost to his nephew Ashish Deshmukh of BJP in Katol in Nagpur district.