Published On : Sat, Sep 12th, 2015

11 MLAs of Nagpur District mock Gram Dattak Yojana with disdain!!


Nagpur: The Saansad Aadarsh Gram Yojana, launched by Prime Minister Narendra Modi last year with an aim of overall development of rural areas. Following the footsteps of Prime Minister, the Maharashtra Government led by Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis appealed the legislators to adopt one village in their constituencies. However, the way the legislators made mockery of the scheme left everyone surprising.

In Nagpur District, the home district of Chief Minister, there are a total of 12 Assembly constituencies. And out of 12 MLAs, 11 are of BJP alone. Still, apart from Katol MLA Ashish Deshmukh, none of the 11 MLAs has adopted a village in their constituencies to fulfill dream of Chief Minister of a developed state. Facing all odds and removing obstacles, Ashish Deshmukh adopted Thungavdeo village. In the Gram Dattak Yojana of the State, the terms and conditions bar MLAs from adopting villages if their wives or any other relatives belong to these villages. The MLAs have to adopt villages in rural areas of their constituencies. However, the good-intentioned scheme is being mocked at with disdain by the BJP MLAs even though the party is ruling at State and Centre too. This scornful attitude of 11 BJP MLAs is raising questions over success of the scheme and overall development of the State.

If an MLA adopts a village with positive frame of mind, he or she can develop five villages by utilizing the MLA Development Fund during the 5-year tenure. According to State Government directive, the information regarding the adopted villages had to be submitted to District Administration before August 15. And none of the MLAs except Ashish Deshmukh did this. On this front, the MPs have pushed the MLAs far behind and won the race. Nagpur MP Nitin Gadkari, Ramtek MP Krupal Tumane, Rajya Sabha Members Ajay Sancheti and Avinash Pande not only adopted villages but informed the District Administration accordingly.