Published On : Sat, Aug 29th, 2015

102nd convocation of RTMNU awards 483 PhDs


The Rashtrasant Tukdoji Maharaj Nagpur University’s 102nd Convocation was held with fervour and academic enlightenment at Vasantrao Deshpande Hall, here in the city, on Aug 29, 2015, in the august presence of Director of Inter-University Center for Astronomy and Astrophysics, Padma-vibhushan awardee Dr Jayant Narlikar and other dignitaries, seated on the dais of the function.
An imminent Indian scientist, Dr Jayant Narlikar was the special guest invited to inaugurate the event while Vice-Chancellor, RTMNU, Dr S V Kane presided over the function.

In his special guest address, Dr Narlikar said, “The day of convocation is the honor of your hard work. I feel very proud that I am called as a special guest on RTMNU’s 102nd convocation. In olden day, kings and royal people used to be honored and they used to be considered respective people in our society, but that situation is not there in the society today. I came to the university due to name of Tukodaji Maharaj because I had seen him at my childhood and still have immortal memories of his life.” In addition, he cited several examples of legends to purge the souls of audience in the jam-packed hall.

In his presidential address, Dr Kane said, “This year, University has completed its first century which is the biggest thing for us as dream getting materialized into reality. I have anxiety about progress of the University, and in fact, ‘The task is long and time is short.'” He expressed his satisfaction over award of ‘A’ gradation by NAAC to RTM Nagpur University. According to him, the RTM Nagpur University is playing a great role in the field of education, as 665 colleges are recognized in entire Vidarbha under it. He informed, there are 39 post-graduate teaching department as well.


On this occasion, various academic awards and degrees were given away at the hands of the guests. They included 1 D Lit (Social Sciences), 483 PhDs under various faculties, 16,663 PG degrees and 56,725 graduation degrees to as many as 73,872 students of the University. Among these students, there were 179 merit holders, 294 gold medal awardees, 42 silver medal awardees and 102 prizes-awardees.