Published On : Wed, Jun 25th, 2014

Voting per cent goes down in Graduate Constituency Polls this year

Nagpur News.

Out of total 2,88,326 registered voters, 100073 voters had exercised their franchise. This meant the voting percentage was 34 percent. The voting percentage this time was much less as compared to the 2008 elections. This was witnessed even after the voters were mobilized by electorates, SMS’s were sent to the voters encouraging them to participate in the election. However, the names of many voters were missing from the electoral list during the voting. This brought forth the negligence on the part of District administration.

District Total voters votes voting percentage
Nagpur 166157 57271 34.47%
Wardha 30522 8050 26.37%
Bhandara  21960 9722 44.27%
Gondia 18529 8102 43.73%
Gadchiroli 13028 4672 35.86%
Chandrapur 38130 12256 32.14%

Now Nagpur represents six BJP legislators

Now this win for sole makes two Nagpur Corporators becoming MLC’s from the region. Earlier, Senior Corporator Prakash Gajbhiye got nominated from Governor’s recommendation as MLC.

Now Nagpur region will have six BJP legislators representing in the State Legislature. This includes MLA Devendra Fadnavis, MLA Sudhakar Deshmukh, MLA Vikas Kumbhare, MLA Krishna Khopde, MLC Nago Ganar and the newly elected MLC Anil Sole.