Voting for NMC poll gets underway, Muttemwars among early voters

Voting for the crucial Nagpur Municipal Corporation (NMC) election got underway on Tuesday morning with two major parties – BJP and Congress — at the forefront of this battle of ‘prestige.’

A total of 20,93,391 voters including, 10,70,828 men and 10,22,500 women, will decide the fate of 1135 candidates for the 151-member civic body.

The stakes are high for Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis who has led campaigning for his party from the front in his hometown.

Among the early voters, was the family of senior Congress leader and former Union Minister Vilas Muttemwar. Accompanied by son Vishal, two daughters-in-law, Muttemwar exercised his franchise at a polling centre in west Nagpur.

BJP candidate from Prabhag 15C, Rupa Rai, was also seen waiting outside a polling centre to cast her vote.

This time, the NMC elections are being held on multi-member wards (Prabhag) system. The NMC will have 151 members. The total numbers of Prabhags will be 38. The 37 Prabhags will have four-member ward while one Prabhag will have three members. The voters will have to elect four members from each Prabhag.