Published On : Tue, Nov 22nd, 2016

Vidhan Parishad polls : Cong, BJP wins 2 seats, 1 each for NCP, Sena

vidhan-bhavan-580x3951Nagpur/Mumbai: The results of Maharashtra Legislative Council elections held at six seats in the state came out on Tuesday. The results show a mixed bag of trends for all the parties. The voting took place on November 19 for Gondia-Bhandara, Pune, Sangli-Satara, Jalgaon, Nanded and Yawatmal MLC seats. Of the 6 seats, the results of 6 are out. Congress and BJP won 2 seats, whereas one each went to NCP and Shiv Sena.

Parinay Fuke of BJP won Gondia-Bhandara seat as he secured 153 votes whereas Rajendra Jain of NCP got 117 and Prafulla Agrawal of Congress secured 113 votes. Similarly Shiv Sena’s Tanaji Yadav won Yawatmal seat with astounding 348 votes giving a big lead to Congress’ Shankar Badhe who was restricted to only 78 votes.

Pune seat went to NCP’s Anil Bhosle who got 440 votes against BJP candidate Ashok Yenpure’s vote count of 133 whereas Congress candidate Sanjay Jagtap was blocked at 71 votes.

Nanded and Sangli-Satara are the two seats where Congress managed to win. However there was a close fight between Amar Rajurkar of Congress (246) and independent candidate Sunder Shinde who finished at 208 votes in Nanded seat. Mohanrao Kadam of Congress won Sangli-Satara MLC seat by 64 votes. He secured 309 votes.

Jalgaon seat won by BJP’s Chandu Patel.