Published On : Sat, Dec 10th, 2016

Video: Cops of Crime Branch Zone-1 nab repeat offenders of vehicle lifting and house breaking thefts

Nagpur: With strong directives by Commissioner of Police Dr K Venketesham, the police personnel of Zone-II manage to apprehend a gang of repeat offenders involved in vehicle lifting and house breaking thefts.

While addressing the media personnel in a press meet organized at Crime Office, Additional Commissioner of Police (Crime) Ranjan Kumar Sharma said that the crime branch sleuths managed to nab the gang involved in vehicle lifting and house breaking thefts in areas falling within the jurisdiction of MIDC, Dhantoli, Hingna and Ambazhari Police Stations.

The four accused are identified as:

  • Sanjay Wamanrao Sahare aged 24 years and a resident of Jaitala
  • Abhishek Madanlal Sinha aged 19 years and a resident of Jaitala
  • Rahul alias Raj Chotu Suryavanshi aged 24 years and a resident of Pandrapodi, Ambazhari and
  • Devanand alias Shravan Shirsat aged 24 years and a resident of Jaitala

In spite of the fact that the Winter Session of Legislative Assembly 2016 going on in the city and a strong police bandobast is in place, the cops of Crime Branch Zone-1 managed to nab four notorious burglars.

The first case was registered in MIDC Police Station under Crime No 2937/ 2016 under Sections 454, 457 and 380 of Indian Penal Code.

The victim identified as Rajesh Wamanrao Patle aged 35 years and resident of Datte Layout, Jaitala had lodged a case of burglary in MIDC Police Station on November 30, 2016. According to the victim, he had gone out of city on some business on November 27, 2016 at around 4 pm after locking his house. When he returned on November 30, 2016 at around 8:30 am, he found the lock on the main door broken. Some unidentified burglar had broken into his house and had stolen a laptop of Lenovo company, gold ornaments, mobile in all worth Rs 62,000/-. On the basis of his complaint, the cops of MIDC Police Station had registered a case under Sections 454, 457 and 380 of Indian Penal Code against unidentified burglars and had initiated an investigation.

On December 8, 2016, the squad of Crime Branch received a secret tip off that two suspicious accused had the stolen laptop and a Splendour Motorcycle. The cops of Crime Branch swooped on the two accused identified as Abhishek Madanlal Sinha and Rahul alias Raj Chotu Suryavanshi. On being subjected to stern questioning, the accused confessed to the crimes and also named the other two accomplices. Apart from the thefts and burglaries in MIDC, these accused are said to have committed many more burglaries in other parts of the city.

During investigation, the cops of Crime Branch seized the following

  • Motorcycles – Four
  • LCD Home Theatre – Three
  • Computer Monitor – One
  • Gas Cylinders – Three
  • Gas Cooking range – One
  • Television – One
  • Gold Ring of three grams – One

The cops recovered in all goods worth Rs two lakhs five thousand. During investigation the cops found out that the accused had committed following four House breaking and four Vehicle thefts.

Cases have been registered against these accused in MIDC, Pratap Nagar, Ambazhari, Hinghanghat (Wardha Dist) and Dhantoli Police Stations.

Accused identified as Rahul Chotu Suryavanshi has cases registered against him in Ambazhari Police Station under Crime No 259/16 under Sections 324, 504 of Indian Penal Code and Under Sub Sections 4+25 of Indian Arms Act. This accused was said to be absconding for the past two months. The cops of crime branch have received a Police Custodial Remand (PCR) for the accused till December 14, 2016. The cops hope to get the confessions of many more burglaries from the accused.

The entire investigation and apprehension of the accused was carried out under the guidance of Additional Commissioner of Police (Crime) Ranjan Sharma and Assistant Commissioner of Police Nilesh Raut by Senior Inspector (Crime Branch Zone-1) Rafiq Bagvaan, Assistant Police Inspector Praveen Patil, Police Sub Inspector Shrinivas Mishra, Police Sub Inspector Avinash Taide, Head Constable Naresh Rewatkar, Suresh Thakur, Naresh Sahare, Naik Police Constable Rajesh Soni, Ravindra Barai, Police Constable Ashish Dewre and Driver Pankaj More.