Published On : Sat, Apr 26th, 2014

South East Central Railway (SECR), Nagpur wins inaugural 1st All India VHA-Nagpur Gold Cup Hockey Tournament

IMG_8076Nagpur News : South East Central Railway (SECR), Nagpur stamped their authority with a clinical display to clinch the 1st All India VHA-Nagpur Gold Cup Hockey Tournament on Saturday evening. The tournament was organized by Vidarbha Hockey Association under the aegis of Hockey India.

SECR, the VHA Senior Division Champions, defeated a young and promising team from Sports Authority of India (SAI) Sundergarh (Orissa) 2-1 in an absorbing final.

At the half-time both the teams were locked at 1-1.

It was the Orissa based team who took the lead against the run of play in the 27th minute through their most dependable forward Sushil Ekka. But the railmen used all their experience to negate the lead at draw parity a minute before half-time.Shadab Khan, who was left unmarked at the top of the circle, received a long ball captain Sheikh Imran and he made no mistake in slotting the ball home beating Orissa goal-keeper Ajay Kandulna.

IMG_7864 copyFour minutes later, SECR captain himself scored the winner for his side from a beautiful field goal. Despite trailing, Orissa continued to play a calm and composed game. They got several chances but were denied by some tough SECR defending. SECR goal-keeper Chandan Singh too made some breathtaking saves in entire match. Similarly, defenders Dheeraj Wagh, Nisaruddin, Mohd Shahid too were excellent.

For SAI Sundergarh, Santosh Majhi, Sunam Beck, Antuni Kido, Tikie Kujur showed excellent skills.

Earlier in the hardline final, Sports Hostel Pomposh, Rourkela defeated Maharashtra XI 2-0. Suraj Minz scored in the 59th minute and Thouphil Kujur then converted a penalty stroke in 64th minute.

Arjuna Awardee and Olympian Ashok Kumar was the chief guest of the final and also gave away the prizes. VHA President BC Bhartia presided over. VHA secretary Vinod Gawai, vice-presidents Unnat Khanna, Arif Khan, Kirtiwardhan Dixit, joint secretary Bhaskar Naidu, treasurer Ghanshyam Purohit, Harish Sisodia, Abid Khan, Sajid Pathan, DV Talewar, Farooq Akbani, Vilas Totade also shared the dais.

Ravi James conducted the programme while Naresh Sawaitul proposed a vote of thanks.

HARDLINE FINAL: Sports Hostel Pomposh, Orissa beat Maharashtra XI 2-0. Suraj Minz (59TH), Thouphil Kujur 64TH).

SECR 2 (Shadab Khan 34th), Sheikh Imran (38th) bt SAI, Sundergarh, Orissa 1 ( Sushil Ekka 27th)
The winning team: SEC RAILWAY, Nagpur: Nisaruddin, Kuldeep Singh, MD.Arif, Dalbir Singh, Karan Kushwaha, Shadab Khan, Sheikh Imran ( C), Jerom Lakra, Irshad Mirza, Md Shahid, Nimit Lal, Dheeraj Wagh, Sunil Lakra, Ashok Nande, Chandan Singh (GK), Ankit Bihari. Coach: Gurucharan Singh. Manager: Lalit Singh.

RUNNERS-UP: SAI SUNDERGARH: Ajay Kandulna (GK), Amardeep Dung Dung, Santosh Majhi, Suman Beck, Sushil Ekka, Binay Surin, Roshan Lakra, Tikei Kujur, Annukaran Tirkey, Silvester Barla (GK), Amardeep Ekka, Deepak Lakra, Prem Sanjy Ekka, Praflla Ekka, Antuni Kido (C), Sanjay Xalxo. MANAGER: Amar Patnaik.
Umpire: Anil Kumar, Umesh Bhine, Judge: Ravi Francis, Sadique Shaikh, Technical Officer: Faheem Khan, Reserve Umpire: Mohd Javed, Tournament Director: Ashutosh Verma.