Published On : Sat, Sep 28th, 2013
Education | By Nagpur Today Nagpur News

MLA’s daughter Pallavi Bawankule among others win CR poll, brawl in Kamble College

CRNagpur News.

The elections for College Representatives (CRs) affiliated Rashtrasant  Tukdoji Maharaj Nagpur University got under way today.  The final 15 representatives for the Student Council will be selected from the overall list of elected representatives. Thereafter, the elections for Students Council’s President and Secretary will be held.


Pallavi Bawankule, daughter of Kamptee MLA and BJP leader Chandrashekar Bawankule, and a student of Law College won the College Representative election. This is the first time that a student from the Law College has been elected unopposed.


Lankush Lambat has won from Mohanrao Kamble College and Salim Sheikh has won from Vivekanand Vidyalaya. Lankush was candidate of Rashtrawadi Vidyarthi Congress (RVC). The contest between RVC and ABVP witnessed a fracas between the students of both outfits. The atmosphere turned hot over the reported abduction of Lankush. Even the police were called to handle the situation which could have gone out of control. The Ruling Party Leader in NMC and BJP leader Pravin Datke, BJP Corporator Bandu Raut and other party workers were present during the election.

The day saw many candidates getting elected unopposed. The once bustling campus at Amravati road looked deserted. Snehal Waghmare of Dr Babasaheb Ambedkar Students Organization won the post unopposed this time. Last year, Vidhyarthi Sangram Sena and a student from Mass Communication Department were also in the fray for the post. However, this time candidate got elected unopposed. The representative of Dr Babasaheb Ambedkar Student Organization said her organization is hopeful of getting more seats and they will be supporting the largest coalition. Similarly, in many colleges students got the posts unopposed.

In the rotational category of 8 colleges, Vidhyarti Parishad Sena is claiming victory of 6 seats out of 8. Ajinkya Meshram has won from KDK Engineering College, Sandip Maske- Sant Gadge College Hingna  and Anurag Bhoyar from Chinatamani College, Wardha. Speaking to Nagpur Today, former President of  Student Council Federation ( VSP ), Abhisar Agne said, “our group will be the front contender for the council seats and we will once again get the opportunity to serve the students.”


Victory cries, slogans, drum beats, bursting of crackers which used to be flavor of the elections, was a rare scene to be seen, not that much of fanfare was seen.

The low turn out of students in the polls wherein the representative is being elected, the representative  who will be their voice in the system and will fight for their rights gets elected unopposed is a bad omen. Low turn out is giving a picture for concern for the leaders political parties who must give a thought as the today’s youth holds the bright future of the nation should become a reality.

With Lok Sabha and Assembly elections next year, all the political parties are hoping that the youth will be playing a major role in the election of a candidate and the party. Huge hopes of youth vote is anticipated by political parties in the coming elections. But the lack of enthusiasm and less participation of the students in these elections is clearly an indication of dismal scenario which needs to be addressed sooner the better.