| | Contact: 8407908145 |

    Segregation of dry, wet waste to start from World Environment Day

    Representational Pic

    In a major push aimed at clean and beautiful Nagpur, collection of segregated dry and wet garbage would commence from June 5 which is celebrated as World Environment Day. Nagpur Municipal Corporation (NMC) will distribute green and blue garbage bins to citizens for the purpose.

    This was decided at the general body meeting of NMC held at Mahal-based Town Hall on Monday.

    The House also approved a proposal to appeal to companies, MPs, MLAs, to contribute from their development funds for purchase of 11 lakh bins that is to be distributed free of cost among 5.5. lakh units in city. Separately, Ruling Party Leader Sandeep Joshi also tabled a proposal saying every Corporator should also contribute a part of their development funds to enable purchase of bins. The solace for Corporators would be that the bins would carry their names and Joshi said there could be cap of Rs. 2 lakh for contribution from Corporators. The total cost of getting 11 lakh bins comes to Rs. 14 crores and NMC would also appeal people who can afford to purchase at least one bin to avoid burdening the exchequer.

    New Transport Committee formed

    The general body meeting of NMC formed the new Transport Committee. Nine members of Bharatiya Janata Party, two of Congress and one of BSP were nominated to the Committee. Jitendra alias Bunty Kukde, a first time Corporator, is the new Chairman of Transport Committee. The Committee will have members Pravin Bhisikar, Abhiruchi Rajgire, Archana Pathak, Ujwala Sharma, Manisha Dhawde, Vidya Madavi, Vaishali Rohankar and Kalpana Kumbhalkar (all BJP), Nitin Gwalbanshi and Nitin Sathawne from Congress and Narendra Walde of BSP. Standing Committee Chairman Sandeep Jadhav will be ex-officio member.

    Similarly Weaker Sections Committee too was constituted. BJP’s Mahendra Dhanvijay is Chairman of this committee. The nominations were voted by the House unanimously. The members nominated are Nagesh Mankar, Shakuntala Parwe, Sunil Bondre, Leena Hatibed, NiranjanPatil,ShilpaDhoteand Naseem Bano Khan (from BJP), Ujwala Bankar and Parasram Manwatkar from Congress and from BSP Jitendra Ghodeshwar was nominated.

    Bhandewadi Dumping Yard problems:

    Mayor Nanda Jichkar directed Municipal Commissioner Ashwin Mudgal and Health Department officials to visit Bhandewadi Dumping Yard and submit a report on problems of garbage disposal within 15 days. The issue was discussed at the general body meeting held at Town Hall on Monday. The members said the foul smell emanating from Bhandewadi Dumping Yard is making the lives of nearby citizens miserable. Frequent fire incidents are only adding woes to the already distressed citizens.

    Stay Updated : Download Our App
    Mo. 8407908145