Published On : Tue, May 3rd, 2016

Satish Hole elected deputy mayor

d281218-largeNagpur: Nagpur Vikas Aghadi’s Satish Hole emerged winner in the election for deputy mayor’s post of Nagpur Municipal Corporation. He got 79 votes, while his rival Bahujan Samaj Party’s Sagar Lokhande got 41 votes. Lokhande was supported by Congress and Nationalist Congress Party. The election procedure was completed during special meeting of Nagpur Municipal Corporation held at Town Hall, Mahal in presence of district collector Sachin Kurve on Monday. Municipal commissioner Shravan Hardikar and other officials were present in the meeting.

For deputy mayor’s post, Nagpur Vikas Aghadi’s Satish Hole, Nationalist Congress Party’s Raju Nagulwar, Bahujan Samaj Party’s Sagar Lokhande and others had filed nomination papers. But due to Nagulwar’s withdrawal, the contest was held between Hole and Lokhande. There are 145 corporators in Nagpur Municipal Corporation.

Out of these, 125 members were present. But due to delay in reaching Town Hall, five members could not remain present in election procedure. These include Purshottam Hazare, Vidya Lonare, Arun Daware, Prakash Gajbhiye, Bandu Talwekar and others. Even though, Lokhande was defeated, Congress, Nationalist Congress Party and Bahujan Samaj Party had come together for this election.

The victory of Hole was confirm as Nagpur Vikas Aghadi has clear majority in the House. Despite 41 members, Congress party did not contest deputy mayor’s election and supported Bahujan Samaj Party. Last time, Satish Hole was Congress corporator. But after Congress denied ticket, he had contested election as an independent.

After getting elected, he joined Bharatiya Janata Party. He was unhappy as Bharatiya Janata Party had not given him any important post. An attempt to clear his misunderstanding has been done by giving him post of deputy mayor in view of municipal elections to be held next year. Former deputy mayor Munna Pokulwar had submitted resignation of this post before moving on to standing committee some months ago. Due to this, election was taken. Mayor Praveen Datke thanked members for electing Nagpur Vikas Aghadi’s candidate.