Published On : Tue, Jan 6th, 2015

World Cup 2015 Team India: No Place for Yuvraj Singh, Fit-Again Ravindra Jadeja Picked


Indian team for World Cup: MS Dhoni (c & wk), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Stuart Binny, Umesh Yadav.

Team India announced for ICC World Cup 2015: No major surprises 

India have announced their squad for the ICC World Cup 2015. The selectors met in Mumbai on Tuesday to pick the 15-member squad that will go on to defend India’s title Down Under.

Skipper MS Dhoni, who recently retired from Test cricket, will continue to lead the side with Virat Kohli acting as his deputy. The likes of Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Suresh Raina, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Mohammed Shami were automatic selections in the side.

The selectors have also chosen to go with Ravindra Jadeja, who is currently recovering from a shoulder injury. There were question marks over his fitness, but he is expected to be fit by the time the World Cup begins on February 14. Meanwhile, Umesh Yadav and Ishant Sharma have been picked as the other seam bowlers in the team. Ishant was left out of the ongoing fourth Test in Australia due to a niggle.

Ambati Rayudu has also held on to his spot as the reserve batsman after some good performances in the recent One-Day Internationals (ODIs). Despite all the hype and hoopla, Yuvraj Singh has not been named in the team. Akshar Patel has been included.