Published On : Tue, Jul 22nd, 2014

No entry for vehicles at Kasturchand Park

KasturchandparkNagpur News : As vehicles being parked at historic Kasturchand Park is damaging ground, the district collector Abhishek Krishna issued orders to lock all three entry gates of park immediately on Monday.

Krishna also gave orders to hold joint meeting of police department, revenue department, Nagpur Municipal Corporation, Nagpur Improvement Trust and Public Works Department about facilities at Kasturchand Park and illegal activities going on at the ground.

The historic Kasturchand Park is used for various professional programmes. Vehicles are parked at the venue. In recent times, passenger buses are also departing from here. Illegal activities are done during night and this affects people residing in the vicinity. The morning goers are also affected due to this.

‘Parivartan The Citizens Forum’ had sought administration’s attention towards all these issued last year. A delegation led by MLA Sudhakar Deshmukh had met the then district collector Saurabh Rao on April 17, 2014. He had given various assurances like stopping professional use of Kasturchand Park, cleaning of ground, providing security guards, increasing police security, etc. After one year, none of them were fulfilled. So ‘Parivartan The Citizens Forum’ met district collector Abhishek Krishna on Monday and gave information about assurances given by the then district collector about Kasturchand Park. The organisation also requested about damage being caused due to parking of vehicles.

Krishna immediately ordered deputy district collector (revenue) Sangitrao to lock all three entry gates of Kasturchand Park. He also gave indications about hike in deposit amount to discourage professional use of ground. Corporator Deva Usre requested him to construct walking track for people at Kasturchand Park and showed readiness to give funds of Nagpur Municipal Corporation for the same.

The delegation comprised of Ramkrishna Angalwar, Dinesh Naidu, corporators Deva Usre, Parinay Fuke, Trisharan Sahare, Rajesh Pille, Sagar Yangalwar and other office bearer.