Published On : Tue, Sep 19th, 2017

Navratri Special : Here’s Durga’s Nine Avatars And Colors To Wear Each Day

Nine scintillating nights are round the corner and the Navratri feel is very much in the air. All those ‘mata ke bhakts’ are set to soak into the festive moods with their dandiya craze. Back home, Nagpur’s vibrant folks too are readying themselves to stay upbeat with dandiya tunes while setting the pitch to fast for nine days. While you know how to keep yourself in sync with dandiya, we at ShoutOut will tell you about the nine avatars of the goddess Durga and also which color will bring you god omen on each day of your festival.
Here we go…

Day 1 – 21st September
Pratipada /Ghatasthapana – YELLOW
The first day is the day of Shailaputri Devi. Shailaputri literally means the daughter (putri) of the mountains (shaila). Variously known as Sati Bhavani, Parvati or Hemavati, the daughter of Hemavana – the king of the Himalayas, she is the first among Navadurgas. Her worship takes place on the first day of Navaratri – the nine divine nights. The embodiment of the power of Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva, she rides a bull and carries a trident and a lotus in her two hands. The color to wear on the first day is Yellow.

Day 2 – 22nd September
Dwitiya – GREEN
The second day is the day of Bharmachirini. She is the second form of Mother Goddess. Bharmacharini means one who practices devout austerity. She enlightens us in the magnificent embodiment of Durga with great powers and divine grace. She holds a rosary in her right hand and a water utensil in her left hand. She is blissful and endows happiness, peace, prosperity and grace upon all devotees who worship her. Filled with bliss and happiness, she is the way to emancipation – Moksha. The color to wear on the second day is Green.

Day 3 – 23rd September
Tritya – GREY
The third facet of Goddess Durga is ‘Chandraghanta’, who is worshipped on the third day of Navaratri, for peace, tranquility and prosperity in life. She has a ‘chandra’ or half moon in her forehead in the shape of a ‘ghanta’ or bell. That is why she is called ‘Chandraghanta’. She is charming, has a golden bright complexion and rides a lion. She has ten hands, three eyes and holds weapons in her hands. She is the apostle of bravery and possesses great strength to fight in the battle against demons. The color to wear on the third day is Grey.

Day 4 – 24th September
Chaturthi – ORANGE
Kushmanda is the fourth form of the mother goddess and is worshipped on the fourth day of Navaratri. The meaning of the name ‘Ku-shm-anda’ is as follows: ‘Ku’ = a little; ‘ushma’ = ‘warmth’; ‘anda’ = ‘the cosmic egg’. So she is considered the creator of the universe. The universe was no more than a void full of darkness, until her light spreads in all directions like rays from the sun. Often she is depicted as having eight or ten hands. She holds weapons, glitter, rosary, etc., in her hands, and she rides a lion. The color to wear on the fourth day is Orange.

Day 5 – 25th September
Panchmi – WHITE
The fifth aspect of the Mother Durga is known as ‘Skanda Mata’ – the mother of Skanda or Lord Kartikeya, who was chosen by gods as their commander in chief in the war against the demons. She is worshipped on the fifth day of Navaratri. She is accompanied by the Lord Skanda in his infant form. The color to wear on the fifth day is Orange.

Day 6 – 26th September

Shashti – RED
The sixth form of Mother Durga is known as ‘Katyayani‘, who is worshipped on the six day of Navaratri. The legend behind her name goes thus: Once upon a time, there was a great sage called Kata, who had a son named Katya. Kata was very famous and renowned in the lineage of saints. He underwent long austerities and penance in order to receive the grace of the Mother Goddess. He wished to have a daughter in the form of a goddess. According to his wish and desire the Mother Goddess granted his request. Katyayani was born to Kata as an avatar of Durga. The color to wear on the sixth day is Red.

Day 7 – 27th September
Saptami – BLUE
This is the seventh form of Mother Durga and is worshipped on the seventh day of Navaratri. She has a dark complexion, disheveled hair and a fearlessness posture. A necklace flashing lightning adorns her neck. She has three eyes that shine bright and terrible flames emanate from her breath. She is black like Goddess Kali and holds a sparkling sword in her right hand battle all evil. The color to wear on the seventh day is Blue.

Day 8 – 28th September
Ashtami – PINK
Maha Gauri is the eight form of Durga Maa. Maha Gauri is intelligent, peaceful and calm. It is said that due to her long austerities in the deep forests of the Himalayas her color transformed from white to black. However, later when Lord Shiva cleaned her with the water of the Ganges, her body regained its beauty and she came to be known as Maha Gauri, which mean extremely white. The color to wear on the seventh day is Blue.

Day 9 – 29th September
Navmi – PURPLE
Siddhidatri is the ninth form of Goddess Durga. She is worshipped on the ninth day of Navaratri. Siddhidatri has supernatural healing powers. She has four arms and she is always in a blissful happy enchanting pose. She rides on the lion as her vehicle. She blesses all Gods, saints, yogis, tantrics and all devotees as a manifestation of the Mother Goddess. The color to wear on the seventh day is Purple.