Published On : Sat, Jun 29th, 2019

Nana Patole, Kisan Congress President resign

All India Congress Committee Secretary and Rajasthan Co-Incharge Tarun Kumar on Saturday submitted his resignation to Congress President Rahul Gandhi. He has resigned from the post taking responsibility for the poll disaster.

In a letter to Congress Rahul Gandhi, Kumar stated, ‘I am resigning from the position of Secretary AICC. The responsibility was given to me in 2017 before the Rajasthan assembly elections. I worked hard to fulfill the duties assigned to me and tried my best to come up to the expectation of the party and the party president’.

He added that you have given your resignation from the top post but in his view, the whole party takes responsibility of the poll setback.

‘In my opinion, we all are equally responsible for the party’s defeat and me being Co- charge in Rajasthan takes the responsibility of party’s performance in the assigned region and put forward my resignation. However, I will continue to strive and contribute with my best efforts towards to party’, he further added in the letter.

While in another development, Nana Patole, Kisan Congress President, submits his resignation from the post, owning the responsibility of the party’s defeat in Lok Sabha elections.

While earlier on Friday, Mass resignation hit the Congress with Leaders stepping down from the post as a mark of respect to Rahul Gandhi. Leaders gave free hands to Rahul Gandhi to make organization changes in the party and to continue as Congress President.

It was started on Thursday with the resignation of Vivek Tankha who steps down from the top post of Law and RTI cell. Soon after that, other Congress Leaders from other states also resigned following the same.

Over 140 Leaders step down till now giving a free hand to Rahul Gandhi to make organization changes.

In the last month concluded national polls, the Congress put a flop show and won 52 seats, which is only 8 more than it got in 2014 national polls. It has also lost some of its strongholds across the country including Rahul Gandhi’s Amethi in Uttar Pradesh and Jyotiraditya Scindia‘s Guna in Madhya Pradesh.

Rahul Gandhi, soon after the poll outcome, had on May 25 offered to step down from his post at the Congress Working Committee (CWC) meeting.

Reportedly despite the CWC rejected his resignation, now an MP from Wayanad, Rahul Gandhi is said to be unfazed and don’t want to continue as party president.