Published On : Mon, Jan 9th, 2017

Nagpur, Gondia Mpl polls : BJP wins 9 seats in Ramtek, Cong captures 3 in Kalmeshwar

BJP Logo

Nagpur: As the counting began for the fourth and final round of municipal council (Nagar Parishad) polls in Maharashtra, the initial trends show that BJP won 9 seats in Ramtek Nagar Parishad. Congress and Shiv Sena won two seats each. However BJP suffered a jolt in Katol Nagar Parishad elections as Vidarbha Majha has succeeded in opening its account. Till now, two Vidarbha Majha leaders have won seats in Katol Nagar Parishad. These are Charan Singh Thakur and Miratai Umap. As many as 1,190 candidates are in the fray for the 244 seats. The latest update shows that Congress candidates have won three seats in Kalmeshwar Nagar Parishad. These include Congress candidate Satyawan Meshram.

The prestige of chief minister Devendra Fadnavis, union transport minister Nitin Gadkari and guardian minister Chandrashekhar Bawankule is at stake in the elections.

Stay on to get more updates.