Published On : Mon, May 22nd, 2017

Mumbai Indians down Pune by 1 run to win third IPL title

Hyderbad: Mumbai Indians came up with a brilliant fightback after being restricted to a paltry 129 for 8 to beat Rising Pune Supergiant by one run in the final of the Indian Premier League in Hyderabad on Sunday night.

Chasing 130 for victory, Pune were done in by veteran Australia fast bowler Mitchell Johnson (3 for 26), who struck twice in the final over, and excellent bowling by Jasprit Bumran (2 for 26) and Lasith Malinga (0-21), as Mumbai bagged their third IPL crown in the ten editions of the Twqenty20 tournament.

The victory also earned Rohit Sharma’s team sweet revenge for the three defeats they suffered against Pune in the league stage of the tournament and Qualifier 1.