Published On : Sun, Oct 7th, 2012

Massive turnout at Inter- University marathon National finals at RTMNU ground

Nagpur News: The national finals of the inter- university marathon were held at the University grounds at 5:30 this morning. Ninety six different Universities participated in the male category, and seventy seven universities in the female category. Rashtrakant Tukadoji Maharaj Nagpur University (RTMNU) was the host of the event.

In the male event, Surendra Kumar from Deen Dayal Upadhyay Gorakhpur University won the gold medal. The silver medal went to Shanender Singh of Punjabi University, Patiala, while Datta Borse from Pune University bagged the bronze medal.

In the female category, the gold medal went to VV Shobha of Calicut University. Roma Devi of Punjabi University won the silver medal. MD Sarah of Calicut University came in third and won the bronze medal. 

The championship Trophy was awarded Maharshi Dayanand University, Rohtak.

The event was graced by the presence of Comissioner of Police Ankush Dhannvijay, Venugopal Reddy and RTMNU Vice Chancellor Vilas Sapkal.