Published On : Thu, Nov 12th, 2015

Major crackdown: Dreaded MCOCA slapped on 11 criminals; massive hunt on to nab two kingpins

In a major crackdown on hardcore criminals, Lakadganj and Wadi police booked a total of eleven members of two gangs under stringent MCOCA (Maharashtra Control of Organized Control Act) for their organized crimes such as murders, attempt to murder, robberies, extorting money, and other serious offences. The gangs were operative since the past ten years and despite the preventive actions and detentions, the two gang members continued their criminal activities with impunity.

Some of the gang members have already been chargesheeted in courts for one or more offences which warrant more than three years of jail. Subsequently, the cops of two police stations put their feet down and send proposals to higher police officials for permission to book the criminals under the dreaded Act. Armed with the nods, the nine members of two criminal gangs were booked under MCOCA. Similarly, a massive hunt has been mounted to nab kingpins of a gang who have gone absconding. A juvenile boy has also been booked under the Act.

The criminals who have been slapped with the Section 3 of Maharashtra Control of Organized Control Act have been identified as 1) Abdul Basid alias Patel Abdul Nawab, 2) Sayyed Shohrab alias Bhaiyya Sayyed Ahafaz, 3) Sheikh Wasim alias Chhota Wasim, 4) Sayyed Ayyaz Ali Fayyaz Ali, 5) Sheikh Mudassir alias Golu Sheikh Gulam and a juvenile boy.

These six goons are under arrest. Similarly, a massive hunt has been launched to apprehend the gang masterminds Sheikh Wasim alias Chirya Sheikh Afzal and Sheikh Nissar Sheikh Hafiz. The accused Chirya and his gang members had murdered one Nawab Anwar Mohammed Habibur Rehman, who was once this gang member but got separated to form his own gang.

Nawab Anwar was murdered by Chirya gang to have upper hand in the criminal world. The four other members of a separate gang who faced the stringent law are 1) Prakash Shankar Bamnote, 2) Dinesh alias Dadu Sukhdeo Lanjewar, 3) Radhyesham Vithhal Uike and 4) Girdhar Ratiram Thakre. This gang was operative in Wadi Police Station jurisdiction.

The orders to book the eleven members of two criminal gangs were passed by Commissioner of Police S P Yadav, Joint Commissioner of Police Rajwardhan and Additional Commissioner of Police Shrikant Tarwade.