Published On : Fri, Nov 7th, 2014

Mahindra Tractor Showroom dacoity cracked, 2 gang members arrested, hunt on for others


Crime Branch of Nagpur Police on Friday has cracked the daring dacoity at Mahindra Provincial Tractor Showroom by arresting two members of the gang and hunting to nab three other members.

According to police, the five-member gang of five dacoits had struck the Mahindra Provincial Tractor Showroom situated near Sonbanagar Railway Crossing on Bhandara Road, Nagpur in the wee hours of 3.15 on 21.10.14. The gang first overpowered the security guard on duty Prabhakar Somaji Hedau (60), resident of Kalmeshwar at the point of lethal weapons and forced him to sit at southern side of the showroom. Some of the gang members then smashed the glass cabin in top floor of the showroom and decamped with cash locker along with Rs 8,00,000 and a mobile phone. Similarly, the gang of dacoits cut open the cash locker in which a blank cheque of HDFC Bank was kept. The dacoits filled up the cheque with an amount of Rs 5,00,000 and transferred the amount in the account of Dharmaraj Kene in Central Bank of India through RTGS (Real Time Gross Settlement) system and then withdrew the entire Rs 5,00,000.

The dacoity case was handed over to the Crime Branch on the same day. During the probe, the Crime Branch sleuths received description of persons who carried out cash transactions in HDFC Bank and Central Bank of India. Armed with the description, cops nabbed the two accused Rajat Vinod Kolte (22), resident of Kodamendhi, Tehsil Mauda, Nagpur District and Roshan Shyam Khare (20), resident of Kandri Kanhan in this dacoity connection. On sustained grilling, the two accused confessed the crime and also named the other members of the gang and information regarding the vehicle used for during the dacoity. Based on the information, Crime Branch has launched a hunt to nab the remaining accused and seize the vehicle.

The task was carried out by Police Inspector Kishore Supare, API Pramod Sanap, API Niraj Chaudhary, PSI Sachin Lule, Constables Afsar Khan, Pramod Dhote, Manoj Joshi, Suresh Hinganekar, Dilip Jhodavale, Sachin Sulake under the guidance of Commissioner of Police K K Pathak, Joint Commissioner of Police Anupkumar Singh and ACP Nilesh Raut.

Representational Pic

Representational Pic