| | Contact: 8407908145 |
    Published On : Mon, Oct 21st, 2019

    Maharashtra voting 2019: Voting begins in Maharashtra, Haryana seats

    Voting for the Maharashtra and Haryana Assembly elections is currently underway. These elections are being held to elect state legislative Assemblies in Maharashtra and Haryana. While the BJP and its allies will look to retain power in both the states, the Opposition is hoping to turn the tables by taking advantage of any anti-incumbency.

    The polling for 90 Assembly seats of Haryana and 288 seats of Maharashtra started at 7 am and will continue till 6 pm. The counting of votes will take place on October 24.

    Maharashtra Assembly elections 2019: Key facts

    Total candidates – 3237

    Number of constituencies: 288

    Number of polling booths: 96,661

    Harayana Assembly elections 2019: Key facts

    Total candidates – 1169

    Number of constituencies: 90

    Number of polling booths: 19,578

    In Harayana, the Assembly election will witness a multi-cornered contest among the BJP, Congress, Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) and Jannayak Janta Party (JJP).

    In Maharashtra, BJP is contesting in alliance with Shiv Sena. Congress is contesting the polls in alliance with Nationalist Congress Party.

    Among the most prominent candidates in Maharashtra are Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis, and his predecessors from the Congress — Ashok Chavan (Bhokar in Nanded district), and Prithviraj Chavan.

    Among prominent figures in the Haryana election are Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar, former chief minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda, JJP’s Dushyant Chautala and INLD’s Abhay Singh Chautala.

    Stay Updated : Download Our App
    Mo. 8407908145