Published On : Mon, Jan 14th, 2013

Krishna Khopde reigns as Nagpur’s BJP President again

Nagpur News.

At present, it has been the marathon election session within party circles in BJP, from ward to national level. After the recently concluded election of ward chiefs in Nagpur, the presidents at divisional level in the party were unanimously elected. A meeting of active party workers was conducted at Shikshak Sahakari Bank hall near Gandhi Sagar lake to elect city’s new party president.

On the occasion Sudhakarrao Deshmukh proposed the name of Krishna Khopde for the post. BJP’s state spokesman Girish Vyas, Nagpur City Mayor Anil Sole, Kailash Chute, Vilas Trivedi, Vicky Kukreja, Sanjay Bangale, Kishore Wankhede, Balya Borker, Bunty Kukde, Dr. Kirtida Ajmera and other party workers backed the proposal. After no new name came in, the election officer Vijay Ghodmare announced Krishna Khopde as Nagpur City’s BJP President for the second time. The decision was lauded by all the party members. The women front then accorded floral felicitation to Khopde.

Extending his vote of thanks for his re-election to the post, Khopde said he would make all possible efforts to live up to the faith that party workers have reposed in him.  Lamenting at the current state of affairs in the country under UPA government’s rule, Khopde said that the situation indicates that the election may happen this year only instead of next year. He exuded confidence that the BJP would win over all the six assembly seats from Nagpur and create hsitory.

BJP’s State General Secretary Devendra Fadnavis extended warm wishes to Khopde and requested him to accord due weightage to the party workers on performance basis.

Those present on the occasion also included elected MP Ajay Sancheti, Banwarilal Purohit, Dr. Upendra Kothekar, Shrikant Deshpande, MLA Vikas Kumbhare, state executive body member Sanjay Bhende, BJP rural president Rajiv Potdar, deputy mayor Sandeep Jadhav, standing committee chairman Dayashankar Tiwari, ruling party leader Pravin Datke, general secretary and NIT’s aide Dr. Ravindra Bhoyar, general secretary Rajesh Bagdi, Sandeep Joshi, Pramod Pendke, treasurer Chetna Tank and Prabhakar Yeole.

The rally led by Krishna Khopde reached his residence at Satranjipura after the meeting.