Published On : Wed, Jul 20th, 2016

Kanak Resources Management agrees to pay minimum wages to temporary workers from July

Kanak Resources Management agrees to pay
Corporator Prafulla Gudadhe Patil had demanded paying of minimum wages based on the State Government’s directives to the daily-wages and temporary workers (especially those working under the registered contractors) in the General Body Meeting held in the month of April. The NMC administration had agreed to the demand and had assured to take out a Government Resolution (GR) soon to the effect. However, this GR has not been taken out as yet. Irked by this Corporator Prafulla Gudadhe Patil had warned the authorities that he will raise this issue once again in the General Body Meeting slated to be held on July 20, 2016.

Irked with the lack of sensitivity and the dilly-dallying attitude of the NMC Administration, the youth of City Youth Congress under the leadership of Corporator Prafulla Gudadhe Patil had not only blocked the entry of the office-bearers but had also gheraod many officials and office-bearers at entrance to the hall where the General Body Meeting was slated to be held. The Corporators of Congress Party were seen divided in two groups while staging this very justified demand’s dharna.

Kanak Resources Management agrees to pay
However, the NMC Administration was taken aback by this dharna. After hours of sloganeering, NMC Commissioner Shravan Hardikar invited Corporator Prafulla Gudadhe Patil and a delegation for talks. When Corporator Prafulla Gudadhe Patil entered, NMC Commissioner Shravan Hardikar handed over a letter sent by Kanak Resources Management Limited dated July 19, 2016. The letter states that management of Kanak Resources Management Limited will be paying minimum wages (as decided by Maharashtra State Government) to all their workers including those working on temporary basis.

As soon as the information of the good news given by NMC Commissioner Shravan Hardikar reached the temporary workers, jubilations started.

Those who actively participated in the protest dharna included President of Youth Congress Bunty Shelke, Praveen Pote, Kamal Hariyani, Prasshant Taranwar, Ashish Dixit, Fazlor Quereshi, Johny Bhai, Haji Matim, Vikram Jadhav, Arun Burewar, Zuber Bhai, Hemant Kature, Sonu Sheikh, Ram Paradkar, Sagar Chauhan, Goldi Jaiswal, Sheikh Azhar, Kranti Jain, Prakash Baiware, Swapnil Dhoke, Nishant Gurnani, Chakradhar Bhoyar, Ashu Sakhre, Rohit Khairwar, Motiram Mohadikar, Anees Ahmed, Prajwal Balpande, Rakesh Nikose and hundreds of Congress workers and activists.

– Rajeev Ranjan Kushwaha ( )