| | Contact: 8407908145 |
    Published On : Fri, Oct 9th, 2015
    Sports News | By Nagpur Today Nagpur News

    Inter college cricket tourney : Soham shines in JNC title win

    jncNagpur: Jawaharlal Nehru College (JNC) Wadi trounced Hislop College by eight wickets to emerge champion in the Panjabrao Deshmukh Inter College Cricket Tournament here on Thursday. Soham Pathak played a pivotal role in team’s title victory with his all round performance. He bagged two wickets with the bowl and also hit a blistering half century to help JNC clinch title.

    The one-sided final match was played at Vasant Nagar ground. The tournament was organised by Dhanwate National College of Physical Education.

    JNC won the toss and asked Hislop College to bat first. The front line bowlers of JNC proved the decision right by checking the run flow from the very first over. They also jolted Hislop innings by picking up wickets at regular intervals.

    All the Hislop batsmen struggled to face the tight and disciplined bowling from the trio of Bhushan Talmale, Harshad Chalwani and Soham Pathak.

    All three bagged three wickets each to derail Hislop’s innings. Talmale was the pick of the bowlers. He scalped two wickets giving away just 18 runs.

    Chalwani got two wickets for 19 runs while Pathak bagged 2 wickets giving away 28 runs. Jatin Yadav also picked up a wicket as Hislop College were reduced to 118 runs.

    Only three batsmen of Hislop were able to score in double digits. Vikrant Prajapati was the top-scorer with 19 runs. He was followed by Bharat Naidu who contributed with 17 runs. Karan Jeswani made 14 runs while Nikhil Mishra made 13 runs.

    In reply, JNC chased the target with ease in just 14.5 overs for the loss of two wickets. Soham laid the foundation of this emphatic victory with a breath-taking innings of 58 runs.

    Iqlakh Khan also made valuable contribution with the bat. He scored 34 runs. Bhushan Talmale remained unbeaten on 24 runs. Vikrant Prajapati and Gaurav Ghusen picked up a wicket each for Hislop College.

    Bhushan Talmale was adjudged Man of the Series while Soham Pathak was named Man of the Match. Sumit Ruikar of DNC was named best batsman of the tournament while Kartik Rathod of Hislop was named best bowler.

    Ghanshyam Bhute of Hislop College was declared best all rounder of the tournament. Powel, Somkunwar, Harshad Chelwani and Abhishek Karambe, who bagged five wickets in the tournament were also awarded.

    The final match was followed by the prize distribution ceremony. Dr Babanrao Taywade was the chief guest on the occasion. District sports officer Vijay Santan, Vijay Warfade and Prakash Wankhede were present.

    The champion team got a cash prize of 5,001 and a trophy while the runners-up got a cash prize of 3,001.

    Prof Gaharwar, Prof Wangal, Dr PP Sonane, Dr Kalpana Jadhav, Dr Amit Kanwar, Vinod Tikre, Vikas Shesh, Tushar Dehenkar, Jay Tembhre and others were present. Devendra Wankhede conducted the proceedings while Jayant Jichkar proposed vote of thanks

    Stay Updated : Download Our App
    Mo. 8407908145