Published On : Mon, Apr 17th, 2017

Installation Ceremony of Ophthalmological Society, Nagpur

Ophthalmological Society, Nagpur (OSN), is a registered organisation of eye surgeons of Nagpur, working for last 30 years and actively participating in

1) Updating knowledge of practicing eye surgeons,
2) Education of post graduate students,
3) Public awareness programs about eye health and diseases
4) Helping government in their efforts of prevention of blindness.

Team of office bearers changes every year, to help the society maintaining the aims and objectives. This year the new team of OSN for year 2017 – 18 is headed by


President Dr Prashant Chaudhari his team included
Secretary Dr. Neha Deshpande
President Elect- Dr. Varsha Rahtekar
Vice president – Dr. Viral Shah
Joint Secretary – Dr. Nikita Vyawahare
Treasurer – Dr. Shamik Ambatkar
Editor Chakshu – Dr. Rahul Tiwari

Executive Member – Dr. Anand Pangarkar, Dr. Subhangi Bhave, Dr. Ashish Thool, Dr. Sunil Naredi, Dr. Shamik Mokadam, Dr. Trupti Lambat, Dr. Saurabh Mundhada, Dr. Poonam Harkut.

Sunday, 16th April 2017, a day long CME programme was organised, at Hotel Tuli Imperial, 9.30am onwards. Doyens in the field of ophthalmology, Padmashree Dr.A.K.Grover, Chairman, Department of Ophthalmology, Sir Gangaram Hospital, Delhi, was present as Chief Guest to bless and guide the new team.

Dr. Anil Laddhad senior ophthalmologist from Nagpur, past president of Vidarbha Ophthalmic Society (VOS), past president of Indian Medical Association (IMA), who is recently elected as a member of Maharashtra Medical Council (MMC) was specially invited to raise the academic excellence in the field of ophthalmology. Along with installation ceremony, CME on newer trends in cataract surgery was organised, where, along with Padmashree Dr. A.K.Grover, local faculty Dr. Anant Gade, Dr. Gopal Arora, Dr. Rajesh Joshi, Dr. Shunak Mokadam, and Dr. Saurabh Mundhada, delivered lectures.

Dr Prashant Chaudhari delivered Presidential Oration on “Trends of Intraocular lenses Past, Present & Future”. Dr. Pallavi Alsi and Dr. Sonali Khanna were Master of Ceremony. Dr. Archana Nikose, Dr. Sunil Naredi Dr. Shriram Karandikar, Dr. Shrikant Andhare, Neeta Rathi, Dr. Mukund Oke, were Chairpersons for the scientific sessions. Dr. All the members worked hard to make the program a grand success.

At the outset Dr. Anant Gade made opening welcome speech. Dr. Mohana Mujumdar read annual report. The dignitaries paid homage to Veteran Ophthalmologist Dr. Sudha Sutaria whom we lost recently, by garlanding the portrait. The dignitaries lighted traditional lamp to mark formal inauguration of programme. E-issueof Chakshu edited by Dr. Abhay Agashe was released by Dr. Anil Laddhad. Dr Prashant Chaudhari in his acceptance speech promised to keep the high tradition academic activities in his tenure.

Many members who achieved glory at various national and International for a were felicitated on the occasion, namely Dr Prashant Agnihotri, Dr. Rekha Khandelwal, Dr. Shubhangi Bhave, Dr. Varsha Pande, Dr. Prashant Bawankule, Dr. Rajesh Joshi, Dr. Anil Laddhad, Dr. Powar, Dr. Gopal Arora, & Dr. Vinay Nangia.

Secretary, Dr. Neha Deshpande proposed the vote of thanks. The programme was largely attended by over 150 eye surgeons, medical fraternity friends and well-wishers and family members of the office bearers.