Published On : Wed, Sep 21st, 2016

Gadkari urged to name Nagpur Railway Station as Shrimant Raje Raghoji Terminus

Nitin Gadkari

Kendriya Janvikas Party has demanded naming of Nagpur Railway Station after Shrimant Raje Raghoji. In a memorandum submitted to Union Surface Transport and Shipping Minister Nitin Gadkari at his Mahal office, the Kendriya Vikas Party has demanded that Nagpur Railway Station be named as Shrimant Raje Raghoji Terminus. The party said that earlier also a memorandum was submitted to Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis in this regard.

In the memorandum, the City President of Kendriya Janvikas Party Shailesh Karade said that the erstwhile “Narangpur” and present Nagpur is 300-year old and historic city. The district was formed in the year 1702. Nagpur City was capital city during Gond era. After the death of Gond Raje Chand Sultan, Raghoji Bhonsale took the lead and intervened in the fight of heirs and thus entered into the politics of Nagpur. Shrimant Bhonsale deftly handled the affairs of Nagpur city. In the year 1743, the first “Shrimant Raghujiraje Bhonsale” turned the city a major centre of state affairs. Later, Nagpur remained the capital of Bhonsale for around 90 years.

Currently, Nagpur is Second Capital City and growing fast as an important centre of the country. Nagpur is third metro city of Maharashtra after Mumbai and Pune. It is a political and commercial hub of Vidarbha. The city boasts of several historic places such as RSS Headquarters, Deekshabhoomi and is a major centre of Dalit and Bouddha movement, the memorandum of Kendriya Janvikas Party said.

Those present at the time of submitting the memorandum include City President Shailesh Karade, Student President Bhushan Shrivas, Vijay Bhardwaj, Dr Bhalchandra Kapre, Shashank Chavan, Bhaskar Hatmode, Nitin Gachke, Mohan Narke, Naresh Pachpore, and several other members and office-bearers.